Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi -- I want to get a laptop on which I will run Fedora 12+ with some sort of a desktop environment (KDE). I really like the Toshibas but have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Laptop recommendations for Fedora 12+

Hi -- I want to get a laptop on which I will run Fedora 12+ with some sort of a desktop environment (KDE).

I really like the Toshibas but have heard newer ones are POS and that it's difficult or impossible to find Linux drivers for them.

So I was gonna ask for some recommendations. I am a Java developer who wants to get more into Linux even in my dev env and I will be doing work for my clients' projects on this laptop. So Eclipse IDE, MySql, Apache, Tomcat are some of the apps that I plan to have running. I would also like to have a decent graphical output for watching video etc.

Thanks in advance

Foampile

Just Joined!

Toshiba

Quote Originally Posted by foampile View Post
    Hi -- I want to get a laptop on which I will run Fedora 12+ with some sort of a desktop environment (KDE).

I really like the Toshibas but have heard newer ones are POS and that it's difficult or impossible to find Linux drivers for them.

So I was gonna ask for some recommendations. I am a Java developer who wants to get more into Linux even in my dev env and I will be doing work for my clients' projects on this laptop. So Eclipse IDE, MySql, Apache, Tomcat are some of the apps that I plan to have running. I would also like to have a decent graphical output for watching video etc.

Thanks in advance

Foampile
    I have a Toshiba Satellite C665 and I do not have any problems with Fedora. I have version 15 installed and all of the drivers were found. I can tell you I had Fedora 12 installed and that version would not even look at my wireless and had some screen issues.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome, foampile!