Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I recently acquired a Dell Latitude D610 laptop, and I installed Fedora 12 onto it. However, it is not recognizing the local wifi, although the wifi is working on a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Wifi for Fedora 12

I recently acquired a Dell Latitude D610 laptop, and I installed Fedora 12 onto it. However, it is not recognizing the local wifi, although the wifi is working on a laptop identical to this one except it has Windows XP. Could someone please explain in a very clear manner(I am not very good with computers) on how I can make the wifi work? I read several other threads about this, but none of the advice there worked.

oz
    forum.guy
    Hello and welcome to the forums!

I don't do any wireless myself so can't help with it much, but you can check the following thread to get you started:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html

Also, keep in mind that you'll get the best hardware support by using the latest Fedora release, which is currently up to Fedora 15.
    oz

It looks like you need either the ipw2200 package or the ipw3945 package to get this going (you can probably install both without any conflicts). These should be available through your package manager, or on your install disk. There is a slim chance that, as Fedora 12 is no longer actively maintained, your on line package managers through yum might struggle. Give it a try and report back if you still can't get it going.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!
    first guy, appreciate the attempt but that thread made no sense to me. second guy, already had ipw2200, but cannot figure out how to install the ipw3945 I downloaded. very confused at this point.

Could you tell us which part is confusing you?
    Which step are you getting stumped on, or error messages that you may have received?
    Jay