Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Ive got two problems could be related, could be unrelated i'm not too sure lol. First problem is when i run yum update it updates but i get these errors ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590

    Yum update/Rpmfusion problems ( Solved)


    Ive got two problems could be related, could be unrelated i'm not too sure lol. First problem is when i run yum update it updates but i get these errors at the top
    Code:
    [steven@linux ~]$ su
    Password: 
    [root@linux steven]# yum update
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    fedora-kernel                                            | 1.3 kB     00:00     
    http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml
    Trying other mirror.
    ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] FTP Error 550 : ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml 
    Trying other mirror.
    livna                                                    | 3.2 kB     00:00     
    updates/metalink
    Second problem is adding the rpm fusion repo.
    Code:
    [steven@linux ~]$ su -c 'yum localinstall --nogpgcheck http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm'
    Password: 
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    Setting up Local Package Process
    rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm                 |  18 kB     00:00     
    Examining /var/tmp/yum-root-2wd_16/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm: rpmfusion-free-release-13-4.noarch
    /var/tmp/yum-root-2wd_16/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm: does not update installed package.
    rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm              |  18 kB     00:00     
    Examining /var/tmp/yum-root-2wd_16/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm: rpmfusion-nonfree-release-13-4.noarch
    /var/tmp/yum-root-2wd_16/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm: does not update installed package.
    Nothing to do
    from what that says i have it installed but it doesn't update the database during yum updates.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    re: 1st problem, are you not using mirrors in your Fedora repo setup? Post the output of this command:
    Code:
    cat /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
    The lines to pay attention to are the enabled= line (says if that particular repo is enabled or not) and the mirrorlist= or baseurl= lines (which tell yum where the repos can be found).

    re: 2nd problem, your yum command worked fine on my Fedora box. Maybe try downloading them and installing them with RPM, e.g.:
    Code:
    wget http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    wget http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    24

    My Interpretation

    You seem to have no real problems here at all. What appears to have happened in the first "problem" is that yum tried for 2 mirrors unsuccessfully, but then had success on the 3rd mirror of livna that was used.

    Code:
     cat /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo
    ... on my machine indicates that the mirrorlist is located remotely. This is therefore Livna's minor issue (not a usability concern).

    Your second given command here is redundant. Yes, you have it installed. The database gets updated _only_ when there are changes to it (I think). I'm left to believe that you update often and sometimes those databases have not been changed since your last update.

    To summarize: You have nothing to worry about or fix at all. The second command is unnecessary. Have a nice day!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    Code:
    [root@linux steven]# cat /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
    [fedora]
    name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch
    failovermethod=priority
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/os/
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-$releasever&arch=$basearch
    enabled=1
    metadata_expire=7d
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch
    
    [fedora-debuginfo]
    name=Fedora $releasever - $basearch - Debug
    failovermethod=priority
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/$basearch/debug/
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-debug-$releasever&arch=$basearch
    enabled=0
    metadata_expire=7d
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch
    
    [fedora-source]
    name=Fedora $releasever - Source
    failovermethod=priority
    #baseurl=http://download.fedoraproject.org/pub/fedora/linux/releases/$releasever/Everything/source/SRPMS/
    mirrorlist=https://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/metalink?repo=fedora-source-$releasever&arch=$basearch
    enabled=0
    metadata_expire=7d
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-fedora-$basearch


    I removed rpmfusion and reinstall the rpm and now when i run an update i get this
    Code:
    [root@linux steven]# yum update
    Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
    fedora-kernel                                            | 1.3 kB     00:00     
    http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/repo/15/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml
    Trying other mirror.
    livna                                                    | 3.2 kB     00:00     
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-15&arch=x86_64 error was
    14: HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-15&arch=x86_64
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-updates-released-15&arch=x86_64 error was
    14: HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=free-fedora-updates-released-15&arch=x86_64
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-15&arch=x86_64 error was
    14: HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-15&arch=x86_64
    Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-updates-released-15&arch=x86_64 error was
    14: HTTP Error 404 - Not Found : http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorlist?repo=nonfree-fedora-updates-released-15&arch=x86_64
    updates/metalink                                         |  18 kB     00:00     
    Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: rpmfusion-free. Please verify its path and try again
    andr it goes no further

    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    re: 1st problem, are you not using mirrors in your Fedora repo setup? Post the output of this command:
    Code:
    cat /etc/yum.repos.d/fedora.repo
    The lines to pay attention to are the enabled= line (says if that particular repo is enabled or not) and the mirrorlist= or baseurl= lines (which tell yum where the repos can be found).

    re: 2nd problem, your yum command worked fine on my Fedora box. Maybe try downloading them and installing them with RPM, e.g.:
    Code:
    wget http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    wget http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/free/fedora/rpmfusion-free-release-stable.noarch.rpm
    rpm -ivh http://download1.rpmfusion.org/nonfree/fedora/rpmfusion-nonfree-release-stable.noarch.rpm

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    Code:
    [root@linux steven]#  cat /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo
    [livna]
    name=rpm.livna.org for $releasever - $basearch
    #baseurl=http://rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/$basearch/ http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/$basearch/
    mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist
    failovermethod=roundrobin
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
    
    [livna-debuginfo]
    name=rpm.livna.org for $releasever - $basearch - Debug
    #baseurl=http://rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/$basearch/debug/ http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/$basearch/debug/
    mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist-debug
    failovermethod=roundrobin
    enabled=0
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
    gpgcheck=1
    
    [livna-source]
    name=rpm.livna.org for $releasever - $basearch - Source
    #baseurl=http://rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/SRPMS/ http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/repo/$releasever/SRPMS/
    mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist-source
    failovermethod=roundrobin
    enabled=0
    gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
    gpgcheck=1
    Quote Originally Posted by PairOfBlanks2 View Post
    You seem to have no real problems here at all. What appears to have happened in the first "problem" is that yum tried for 2 mirrors unsuccessfully, but then had success on the 3rd mirror of livna that was used.

    Code:
     cat /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo
    ... on my machine indicates that the mirrorlist is located remotely. This is therefore Livna's minor issue (not a usability concern).

    Your second given command here is redundant. Yes, you have it installed. The database gets updated _only_ when there are changes to it (I think). I'm left to believe that you update often and sometimes those databases have not been changed since your last update.

    To summarize: You have nothing to worry about or fix at all. The second command is unnecessary. Have a nice day!

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    I can access all of those rpmfusion repo URLS...odd.

    As a test, can you load this URL in a browser, from your Fedora box?

    http://mirrors.rpmfusion.org/mirrorl...15&arch=x86_64

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    nope 404 not found

  9. #8
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    is there anyway to reset all the data from all of the repos?

  10. #9
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    reinstalling the repo RPMS should have done it. you can clean out your cache:
    [code]yum clean all/code]
    but I doubt that would fix your problem.

    It sounds more like you are having DNS issues - are you sure your Fedora box getting out to the internet? Can you resolve the ip address of the server in the repo URL? e.g.:
    Code:
    host mirrors.rpmfusion.org
    Note: host command is part of the bind-utils package.

    Check your DNS settings:
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Make sure your default route is set:
    Code:
    route -n

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    Code:
    [root@linux ~]# host mirrors.rpmfusion.org
    mirrors.rpmfusion.org has address 88.198.59.188
    mirrors.rpmfusion.org has address 134.108.44.54
    Code:
    [root@linux ~]# cat /etc/resolv.conf
    # Generated by NetworkManager
    domain domain_not_set.invalid
    search domain_not_set.invalid
    nameserver 192.168.0.1
    Code:
    [root@linux ~]# route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 wlan0
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     2      0        0 wlan0

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •