Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a java programmer having little knowledge on linux. We have one java application polling continuoulsy on a Queue. For every 15 mins, it will process a transaction ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Memory utilization on linux server

Hi,
    I am a java programmer having little knowledge on linux. We have one java application polling continuoulsy on a Queue. For every 15 mins, it will process a transaction involving data extraction from a 120 MB file. When we ran this application on unix (HP-UX) server, below is the memory utilization pattern on this server.unix.jpg

When we ran the same application in Redhat Linux server, below is the memory utilization pattern. linux.jpg

In Unix the max memory utilization was around 400 MB and in Linux for the same application and data it has reached 2.5 GB incrementally.
    From the application perspective we are not seeing memory leaks as it is occupying consistent memory in unix.

Is there any settings on linux server side which will do a clean up of memory at regular intervals?
    Are there any parameters which needs to be set on linx which impacts the memory utilization of the applications?

Thanks
    Pradeep

Just Joined!
    Hi Pradeep,
    This is a loaded question. Can you tell me how you are measuring memory utilization on Linux?

A lot of people use "top" and look at the Mem: line. This is completely incorrect. On my server, the line currently shows:
    Mem: 2074968k total, 1795608k used, 279360k free, 159808k buffers

So, 2 GB total, 1.7 GB used! That's horrible you might think, but it's not. because of the next line....
    Swap: 2031608k total, 732k used, 2030876k free, 851864k cached

Linux uses any excess memory to build a cache. That memory is available to be used by programs at anytime.
    You can force Linux to relinquish all the "clean" data in the cache.
    # echo 1 >/proc/sys/vm/drop_caches