Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm new to linux so i apologize if I don't know the proper names for some of the features I'm about to ask about... At work we have a Solaris ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux GUI Server

I'm new to linux so i apologize if I don't know the proper names for some of the features I'm about to ask about...

At work we have a Solaris machine that we can log into with X-Deep32 (windows to solaris) and have our own desktops and usernames. I want to setup our Linux RH system to work in a similar manner where I can setup usernames and have users log in remotely to have their own desktop environment. (windows to linux if possible).

Is there a guide out there or a term I can google to help me try and set this up.

Thanks!

Check out Xming. It's an X-Windows server layered over the putty ssh client (X reverses the traditional client-server terminology).

Linux Newbie
    Many years since I used the method but I found it a great help in managing a number of Solaris partitions at once. I just needed to switch to desktops :1 - :11 (CTRL-ALT-F8 to F11) where I had specified what desktops the sessions were to come up.
    http://www.idevelopment.info/data/Un...dHatLinux.shtm.

Made life easier not having to log off one and on to another, also nice to be able to switch easily to check on another partition.

Re-read the thread again, the URL above allows you to set up a server as well so you can gain remote access.
    Vncserver is another method you can use.
    Last edited by Siddly; 09-21-2011 at 02:01 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Siddly View Post
    Many years since I used the method but I found it a great help in managing a number of Solaris partitions at once. I just needed to switch to desktops :1 - :11 (CTRL-ALT-F8 to F11) where I had specified what desktops the sessions were to come up.
    Configuring XDMCP and GDM on Red Hat Linux.