Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Linux so please bare with me. I need to log all communications between an application and the serial port on the same system. I did a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with Linux application command

I am new to Linux so please bare with me.

I need to log all communications between an application and the serial port on the same system.

I did a little research and found an application called Interceptty that looks like it will do the trick. However, I'm having issues determining the proper sytax.

Here is a link to the Interceptty webpage...hxxp://suspectclass.com/sgifford/interceptty/interceptty.html

Here is the command that I thought would work...
    "Interceptty /dev/ttyS0 -o test.txt". It does execute, holds on the command line and creates the output file, but nothing gets logged to the file. I've tried several command line variations to no avail. I also sent an email to the author, but got a bounceback.

Like I said, I'm new to Linux so I'm sure this will probably be easy one for you guys.

Thanks!

Just Joined!
    Try with setserial (for more option you can use setserial -h) or using minicom for simple to do

Just Joined!
    Thanks, but I don't think Setserial will do what I'm looking for. This looks to be more for setting/reading the serial port values. Minicom looks to be more of a communications program.

I need to capture all communications sent to and received from the serial port from an application.

Like I said, I think Interceptty will work, but I can't figure out the proper syntax since Linux is pretty much Greek to me at this point.

The command line I have used is "Interceptty /dev/ttyS0 -o test.txt". The serial port I need to monitor is COM1.

I'm really under the gun to get this figured out so any help is much appreciated.

Here is the usage parameters listed on the Interceptty webpage: