Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi i cant seem to move the task bar which seemed to be fixed at the top any idea on how i could move that to the bottom. I tried ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    68

    Fedora 15 - Cant move the startup taskbar


    Hi i cant seem to move the task bar which seemed to be fixed at the top any idea on how i could move that to the bottom. I tried dragging it to the bottom but it doesnt work ?

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Are you running Gnome 3?
    If so, then AFAIK there's not really a way to customize it that way.
    If you're using the Fallback option, then there might be something to find in the gconf-editor.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast Mudgen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    664
    Yep, welcome to Gnome 3. It seems we've traded all kinds of functionality and configurability for a bunch of OSX'y icons that pop up from the bottom, usually when you're trying to click a button near the bottom of your browser screen.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    68
    I have gnome 3.0.1. And this is really annoying . How about the minimize button "_" . In firefox and other windows. I remembers there a way to atleast get the minimize fedora 13 had it. Is there a way to get the minimize button to work

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    move to fedora 14

    really the gnome 3 is annoying. once i installed fedora 15. but its very difficult to use. ubuntu 11.04 was also same. but 11.10 is better. better you need to install fedora 14.

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Try installing cinnamon, it gives you a Gnome 2.x feel to Gnome 3.x - see this thread:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/cof...gnome-2-x.html

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    hurrrrrrrrreeeyyyy

    hurrrrrrrrreeeyyyy finally i got a solution... Thanks guyz.....

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,883
    Quote Originally Posted by atreyu View Post
    Try installing cinnamon, it gives you a Gnome 2.x feel to Gnome 3.x - see this thread:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/cof...gnome-2-x.html
    This works a treat... but only for Fedora 16. I tried it on Fedora 15, and it doesn't work at all.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

  9. #9
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    bummer...that's good to know, though.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! pradeeprajkumar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by zedan85 View Post
    How about the minimize button "_" . In firefox and other windows. I remembers there a way to atleast get the minimize fedora 13 had it. Is there a way to get the minimize button to work
    Of-course there is a way.
    Install gnome-tweak. After installing gnome-tweak,under the shell tab, you can select the options(show minimize/maximize/close/all) to be shown on the ui windows.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •