Find the answer to your Linux question:
RHEL AS 6.0, unknown patch level. We are application admins (I am a former Linux admin) who due to outsourcing no longer have root access to our servers. Recently we ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

application segfault causing system crash?

RHEL AS 6.0, unknown patch level.

We are application admins (I am a former Linux admin) who due to outsourcing no longer have root access to our servers. Recently we had a server hang (or crash -- offshore linux admins are conflicted whether it was a hang or a crash) which seems to have coincided with a ping failure which also seems to have coincided with a segfault from the application.

Ok, so a couple of things about that:

My understanding is that ICMP echo is handled at the adapter level for modern network adapters, so absence of a ping is indication of a network failure or a NIC failure, not a system hang or crash. Feel free to disagree.

The application log files are on an NFS share serviced by the previously mentioned NIC, (I know this is not good practice and I wouldn't have done it this way, but did not have say in the matter) it seems reasonable to get a segfault as a result of the application having a file open when the remotely mounted file system went away due to NIC failure. Again, feel free to disagree.

At this point, things are looking bad for the NIC. But the linux admins sent the system log files to tech support of the server manufacturer (to whom we do not have direct access) who immediately pointed at the segfault as evidence that the application caused the crash.

Really?