Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 14 of 14
Originally Posted by dineshbij75 I update grub but giving following error [dinesh@localhost ~]$ su Password: You're missing the trailing dash. Code: su -...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Quote Originally Posted by dineshbij75 View Post
    I update grub but giving following error

    [dinesh@localhost ~]$ su
    Password:
    You're missing the trailing dash.
    Code:
    su -
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    Linux User glennzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Salem, Mass
    Posts
    466
    The correct way to update grub in Fedora 16 is
    PHP Code:
    su
    grub2
    -mkconfig -/boot/grub2/grub.cfg 
    Glenn
    Powered by Fedora

  3. #13
    Just Joined! pradeeprajkumar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    72
    Goto the following directory and edit the grub.cfg file as follows
    Code:
    [root@localhost~]#cd /boot/grub2/
    [root@localhost~]#gedit grub.cfg
    copy the value of menuentry for 'windows OR your desired os' enclosed in single quotes

    Then open another tab in the terminal and edit the grubenv file under the same directory
    Code:
    [root@localhost~]#gedit grubenv
    here in this file, replace the saved_entry value with the windows name which you copied from the grub.cfg file.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by pradeeprajkumar; 02-05-2012 at 08:17 PM.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined! jonniemuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    E.Africa
    Posts
    59
    you can edit this file

    #vi /boot/grub/grub.conf

    cut the the windows entry and its Cally brackets to the top of the code. Change the time out to a higher number like 16.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •