Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have been attempting to install fedora 16 onto a partition I made on this laptop (Dual booting with windows). I load the CD/DVD/USB (yes I have tried them all ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Question HP Envy 14t-2000 CTO Install issue. Blank screen booting CD/DVD/USB


    I have been attempting to install fedora 16 onto a partition I made on this laptop (Dual booting with windows).

    I load the CD/DVD/USB (yes I have tried them all and also downloaded serveral ISOs 64bit.)

    I only get to the first window where it asks if I want to install then it gos blank. I then plug in a monitor to the display port and it does display onto the screen. But in a resolution that is too large for the display.

    Is there something I must do to get just the install to display on the main LCD with the right resolutions on the laptop?

    Please any advice will help.

    I have had this problem with any distro I attempt to install. Ubuntu,Fedora,Slackware,LinuxMint,CentOs..

    I have been able to get CentOs and Ubuntu to install but once I reboot and load the distro screen is blank. Monitor shows Extended view no main screen.

    Thanks in advance to anyone that can help.


    Laptop Specs:

    HP ENVY 14t-2000 CTO Notebook
    • 2nd Gen Quad Core i7-2720QM
    • 1GB DDR3 Radeon HD 6630 switchable Graphics [HDMI,Mini Display Port]
    • 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 System Memory (2 DIMM)
    • 500GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
    • 8 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
    • 14.5" diagonal High Definition HP BrightView Infinity LED Display (1366x76
    • SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support
    • Intel 802.11a/b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    Does this system have both the Intel on-board graphics as well as nVidia graphics? If so, then you need to disable the on-board graphics and only use the nVidia graphics for this system. New Lenovo systems have the same problem - such as the one I use at work. With Windows, they use the on-board graphics for most normal stuff, and auto-switch to the nVidia for more graphics intensive tasks. Unfortunately, this setup does not work well (if at all) with Linux. IE, it boots using the on-board graphics, and then switches to the nVidia card, but creating some issues, such as the inability to use the same display...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Does this system have both the Intel on-board graphics as well as nVidia graphics? If so, then you need to disable the on-board graphics and only use the nVidia graphics for this system. New Lenovo systems have the same problem - such as the one I use at work. With Windows, they use the on-board graphics for most normal stuff, and auto-switch to the nVidia for more graphics intensive tasks. Unfortunately, this setup does not work well (if at all) with Linux. IE, it boots using the on-board graphics, and then switches to the nVidia card, but creating some issues, such as the inability to use the same display...
    Yes it has Intel and Radeon. I checked BIOS and the only option is to change Graphics from Dynamic/Fixed (I do not believe it is Fixed. Because it says it depends on whether the AC is plugged in.) I put it Fixed saved and exited but still no luck.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    Ok. On my Lenovo laptop, I switched to use the nVidia (ATI in your case) video, and it booted ok using the nVidia chipset. I also think you are correct that if it is running on battery, it may use the on-board video in order to reduce the power drain. Personally, if I were purchasing a new system, I would NOT get one of these bastardized systems with both on-board Intel GPU's and other. I prefer other since they 1) don't suck up system RAM to operate and 2) perform better for anything but the most trivial graphics operations!
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    When I purchased it I did not realize it was the switchable graphics type. I only wonder when will linux begin to support these. I have figured out Gnome 3 is my issue. I have it loading fedora but I can only get max resolution 1024x768.

    I will try and get more details.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •