Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Lan shutdown script problem for RHEL5u5

I am new too. I have some experience using scripts but am no where near proficient. I have used the ssh shutdown script and it works great one machine at a time but like Hudak998 I have more than one machine. I actually can have as many as 200 machines online at any given time. I have a sript I have been trying to get to work and maybe someone here could help me figure out why it does not work. As you can read (below) 2 integers are required which is a range of machines. However it returns "machine_name is down". In reality the machines are up and I can ping them.
    HTML Code:
    #Author :Romaddave
    #Date : 5-3-2012
    #Purpose : Shutdown LAN PCs
    #Check if 2 parameters exist
    if [ $# != 2 ]
    	echo This script requires 2  integer parameters
    	exit $ERROR
    while [ $MIN -le $MAX ]
    	ssh -o NoHostAuthenticationForLocalhost=yes root@192.168.9.$MIN shutdown -h now > /dev/null
    	STATUS=`echo $?`
    	if [ $STATUS = 0 ]
    			echo view$MIN is Shuting down
    			echo view$MIN is not Responding
    	let "MIN +=1"

Thanks to whomever put this in HTML for me. Hope I haven't broken any rules. This is the first forum I have ever been a part of and I look forward to sharing if I can.

LAN shutdown

OK, using a new script and network wide shutdown now works. Only problem is I am asked for the root password for each host machine selected for shutdown. So that is 145 times I have to put in the password. Not time efficient. Quicker if I just go around and power down all the machines manually.

The rsa keys match so I can't figure out why it's asking for a password (please read the script before replying to this). In the script I am using:

"ssh -o NoHostAuthenticationForLocalhost=yes root@view$MIN shutdown –h now > /dev/null" This should bypass the requirement for a password - right?