Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi there, what I want to know is the free -m output, can that be wrong? Can it display the incorrect amount of memory installed in the machine? I issue ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13

    Can free -m out put be wrong RHEL


    Hi there, what I want to know is the free -m output, can that be wrong? Can it display the incorrect amount of memory installed in the machine?

    I issue the command and the out put is this:

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 3823 3717 106 0 4 2596
    -/+ buffers/cache: 1116 2706
    Swap: 6015 127 5888
    This suggests to me there's only 3 GB RAM installed in this linux machine, the person who looks after the server in the data centre seems to think there should be 8GB RAM installed in those machines is there any reason that this output could be wrong?

    Also on one of our other linux servers the out put is this:

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 16105 15666 438 0 60 12584
    -/+ buffers/cache: 3022 13083
    Swap: 5023 0 5023
    Suggesting that there's 16GB RAM installed in this server but the guy said there's only 4GB installed in that server.

    Thanks in advanced

  2. #2
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,525
    There is always the possibility of a bug but it's fairly unlikely. Could also be human error...
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Are the systems running a 32bit or 64bit OS?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  4. #4
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,525
    That wouldn't explain the second machine there
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    The Fifth Continent

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    I do not think free is getting this wrong. What I do believe is the tech doesn't know and is making guesses. As to the first if the system is running 32bit then I can see why you are only seeing 3GB. Look at /proc/meminfo.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #6
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    I agree, human error is probably the culprit here. Maybe he got the servers mixed up and out of order or something.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •