Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I am working as superuser, however I got this message Code: mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda2 /windows FATAL: Module fuse not found. ntfs-3g-mount: fuse device is missing, try `modprobe fuse` as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25

    Cant mount NTFS


    I am working as superuser, however I got this message
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda2 /windows
    FATAL: Module fuse not found.
    ntfs-3g-mount: fuse device is missing, try `modprobe fuse` as root

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Idk, it seems you definitely have the thing installed for ntfs, I don't what the fuse thing is though. It says modprobe fuse as root at the bottom. Try that.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25
    I also did it but dont get response, any other sugestion ?

    Code:
    modprobe fuse
    FATAL: Module fuse not found

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie SL6-A1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    120
    Quote Originally Posted by Dikerson View Post
    I also did it but dont get response, any other sugestion ?

    Code:
    modprobe fuse
    FATAL: Module fuse not found
    Try uninstalling the FUSE NTFS module and re-installing it. There should be two different NTFS module in Red Hat available. One is the NFTS-3g fuse module and there is another one there. I would try installing that module instead. I know i use to have trouble with the same module you are currently having issues with, until i installed the other NTFS module. Wish i knew the damn name of it.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,747
    There are two ntfs-3g packages. One is native (ntfs-3g) and the other uses fuse (fuse-ntfs-3g) which is the user-space driver (not as efficient as the native one). Make sure you don't have both installed. If you have both on your system, uninstall the fuse version, and install the native one. Also, make sure you install the correct one for your architecture. If you are running 64-bit, then install the x86_64 version, even if the i686 one is available (as it is on Red Hat systems).
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  7. #6
    Just Joined! ifechi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    11
    Hi Dickerson,

    Check if the fuse package is actually installed on the server.
    Issue the below command

    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep fuse
    Whats the output?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25
    hello the output is:
    Code:
    fuse-2.7.4-8.el5
    fuse-ntfs-3g-2010.10.2-1.el5.rf

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25
    Thank you, I have both packages installed, could you tell me the command to uninstall fuse, I search in google but is very confuse

  10. #9
    Just Joined! ifechi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Dikerson View Post
    hello the output is:
    Code:
    fuse-2.7.4-8.el5
    fuse-ntfs-3g-2010.10.2-1.el5.rf
    Dikerson this error is sometimes caused by kernel dependency problems. Does your linux have connectivity to the internet?

    If not try uninstalling and installing the correct versions of fuse and fuse-ntfs-3g for your kernel.

    Use the following commands to uninstall.

    Code:
    # yum remove fuse-2.7.4-8.el5
    # yum remove fuse-ntfs-3g-2010.10.2-1.el5.rf
    Hope this helps.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25
    where is the path to uninstall from kernel ?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •