Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I am a newbie to Linux therefore please pardon anything foolish I ask. I have purchased a Dedicated Server from a hosting company. It has two 1TB hard disks. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

LVM on an Existing Server

Hi

I am a newbie to Linux therefore please pardon anything foolish I ask.

I have purchased a Dedicated Server from a hosting company. It has two 1TB hard disks. The hosting company has installed software RAID on this machine. Following is the output of df-h

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/md0 904G 16G 843G 2% /
    tmpfs 5.9G 0 5.9G 0% /dev/shm

I want LVM on this machine. I can't ask this from my hosting company as it asks to pay $$$ for every small thing.

My questions are:

1. Is there a way that I can have software RAID installed with LVM? My purpose of RAID is to have redundancy. If one hard disk goes down the other one can take up.
    2. Is there a way that I can create LVM without re-installing the whole server? I have been given a rescue system by the hosting company.
    3. If the above are possible, how?

Thanks in advance,

Habib

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    What is the output of the "mount" command (no arguments)?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    Hi Rubberman

Thanks for the reply. Here is the output:

/dev/md0 on / type ext4 (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
    tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw)
    sunrpc on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw)

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.