Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I am required to implement a gui warning banner on my RHEL 6 workstation. I have a file configured under /etc/issue I have configured ssh to display this banner and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34

    GUI Warning Banner RHEL6


    I am required to implement a gui warning banner on my RHEL 6 workstation.

    I have a file configured under /etc/issue

    I have configured ssh to display this banner and it works correctly.

    I now need a banner to display when physically logging in the machine.

    I have tried a few things online but havent found anything that works.

    Here are some of the sites I have looked at.

    Chapter*6.*Desktop

    RHEL6: Login Banners SecureOS

    GDM - X Windows login banners | The STAR experiment



    Has anyone configured something like this that works?

    Or does anyone have any other tips for me?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Have you tried to do this with gdmsetup?

    After starting this program:
    Select Local tab > Welcome Messages > Custom > Enter your custom message
    Click on Close button to save the changes.

    not sure if this will work for you, I do not use GDM.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    I don't have gdmsetup.

    is that something can i have to install?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Not sure, you could always try yum provides gdmsetup to see what you need to install to get it.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Now that I am at home this is what I see with yum

    Code:
    1:gdm-2.16.0-59.el5.centos.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager.
    Repo        : installed
    Matched from:
    Other       : Provides-match: /usr/sbin/gdmsetup

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    34
    thats what i got when i ran yum provides gdm

    1:gdm-2.30.4-21.el6.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager
    Repo : rhel-x86_64-workstation-6
    Matched from:



    1:gdm-2.30.4-33.el6_2.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager
    Repo : rhel-x86_64-workstation-6
    Matched from:



    1:gdm-2.30.4-21.el6_0.1.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager
    Repo : rhel-x86_64-workstation-6
    Matched from:



    1:gdm-2.30.4-32.el6.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager
    Repo : rhel-x86_64-workstation-6
    Matched from:



    1:gdm-2.30.4-33.el6_2.x86_64 : The GNOME Display Manager
    Repo : installed
    Matched from:
    Other : Provides-match: gdm

    this is what i got when i ran yum provides gdmsetup

    You can use "*/gdmsetup" and/or "*bin/gdmsetup" to get that behaviour
    No Matches found


    not sure what to do. I still haven't found a solution but I haven't been looking to hard the last few days.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    First look and see if you have it already with

    Code:
    locate gmdsetup
    If you don't then do

    Code:
    yum provides /usr/bin/gdmsetup

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •