Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, I have tried mulitple times installing RHE 5 on Vmware, the installation works fine but i am not able to create Volume Groups (or partitions) while installing the RHE. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Cool Cannot create Volume Groups while installing RHE 5 on Vmware 4.0.2


    Hi,
    I have tried mulitple times installing RHE 5 on Vmware, the installation works fine but i am not able to create Volume Groups (or partitions) while installing the RHE.
    My friend, an admin told me the option should come up at the time of installation...i am a kind of newbie, any leads on this?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    In RHEL 6 LVs are created by default, but in RHEL5, I think, you need to created them manually. Select custom partitioning or custom scheme (something along those lines) and then you should be able to create LVs

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4
    I installed RHEL 6 also, but the same issue. So i reverted to RHEL 5, but the issue persists !

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    do you get an error message?

    what's the output of
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    after you finished installing RHEL6?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4
    [root@localhost xxxxx]# fdisk -l
    bash: fdisk: command not found

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by rockfella View Post
    [root@localhost xxxxx]# fdisk -l
    bash: fdisk: command not found
    How bizarre, fdisk is not installed, I thought it was part of the minimal install.

    what's the output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    It would be handy to know exactly what you have done, step by step.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4
    [root@localhost xxxxx]# cat /etc/fstab
    LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
    LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
    tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    LABEL=SWAP-sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    everything is mounted by labels, which is not very helpful here.

    Are you, at this point in time, trying to add a new VG? what is it that you are trying to do?

    At any rate, I would suggest that you install fdisk

    Code:
    yum -y install util-linux-ng
    you could try running this and posting the output
    Code:
    blkid
    but not sure if it will be installed

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    910
    fdisk is most likely already installed.
    fdisk in RHEL is supposed be be run by sudo or root. If you're still having problems, the full path should be
    /sbin/fdisk

    Anyway, check out this link from VMware:
    VMware KB: Extending a logical volume in a virtual machine running Red Hat or Cent OS
    Be sure to exchange the appropriate steps for ext3 and ext4, as this doc was written for ext3.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •