Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am running RHEL 6.2 64 bit os with EXT 4 file system. I am fairly new to linux but I am trying to find a best practice way ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RHEL 6.2 Rescue Image best practice

Hello,

I am running RHEL 6.2 64 bit os with EXT 4 file system.

I am fairly new to linux but I am trying to find a best practice way to backup my system in case of a failure.

Is there any software out there that will create a system backup or restore image or file in case of a failure?

I haven't researched in a while but I know there is software out there but it took like 5 hours to back it up and the compression was not good...backed up the whole 250 gb hd when I was really only using like 10gb.

Maybe I just do a backup of the files instead of creating an image?...not sure if that is a best practice or not?

I am used it windows and having something simple and automated to do this so I am not used to this.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    You can use rsync, or if you want an entire current image of your discs, you can use something like dd to copy and compress an entire file system or physical disc (including boot sector/partition table) to an external backup drive. I use both methods. Every month I make a bit image of my system bood disc, and then use rsync to keep current copies of changed files in /usr, /opt, /lib, /etc, and such. Ask if you want more specific instructions.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    Yes some details would be nice.

What would I need to get setup for rsync? Could I just use it to copy files to a centralized server through ssh? or would I need a rsync server setup?

How do you create a bit image of your system boot disk?

Thanks!

4. $spacer_open