Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, i am a beginner of linux, i trying to start mail server, but i have a question.... why mail server need to set [hostname]...web server name also.....? as i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

about mail server or web server hostname

hi, i am a beginner of linux, i trying to start mail server, but i have a question....

why mail server need to set [hostname]...web server name also.....?
    as i know, when someone send a http request out, it get a ip from dns, send request to the IP, through the router then address and port redirection, to the destinction machine......
    so.....this already know the target machine....why need to config a [hostname]??

best regards
    ming

Just Joined!
    You can certainly use just an IP to communicate with your web server.

For a proper mail server, valid domain, hostnames and MX (or at minimum A records) are required.

You can also use just the IP with a mail server, for testing purposes or for internal mail, but it gets a bit harder and you won't be able to use it to communicate with the rest of the world.
    The address takes the form user@[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] - the square brackets are required.
    This is known as a domain-literal address and is generally not supported by most real-world mail services.

Just Joined!
    There is a simple reason for the web server and mail server needing to set a hostname.

It is for logging and error message purposes. Lets take a simple scenario which applies to both web server and mail server.
    Your browser connects to www.somedomain.com

www.somedomain.com has a single IP address in DNS which is the address of the load balancer. The load balancer dispatches the request to one of ten different web servers.