Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have HP dv6 pavilion. I installed fedora 16 in it along with windows. I installed fedora on a separate partition. After installation I booted to windows, but it crashed. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5

    Windows crashed with blue screen after installation fedora 16


    I have HP dv6 pavilion. I installed fedora 16 in it along with windows. I installed fedora on a separate partition. After installation I booted to windows, but it crashed. It shows a "starting windows screen" and then crashes with a blue screen. On next time of starting windows, it shows a recovery environment, with a message that the "device you wanted to connect was not available". I tried to boot with a windows CD to reinstall windows and remove fedora, but it isn't able to locate hard disk driver and hence of no good at all. In nutshell windows is cannot be restored by fresh installation.

    As far as I read on internet and experience, its a problem with configuring grub. my fdisk -l output look like:



    Code:
     Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
            255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders, total 1250263728 sectors
        Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
        Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        Disk identifier: 0xad6d2636
        
           Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
        /dev/sda1              63        2047         992+  42  SFS
        /dev/sda2            2048      409599      203776   42  SFS
        /dev/sda3   *      409600   995420159   497505280   42  SFS
        /dev/sda4       995420160  1250263727   127421784    5  Extended
        /dev/sda5       995422208   996446207      512000   83  Linux
        /dev/sda6       996448256  1250263039   126907392   8e  Linux LVM
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_swap: 8355 MB, 8355053568 bytes
        255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1015 cylinders, total 16318464 sectors
        Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
        Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        Disk identifier: 0x00000000
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_swap doesn't contain a valid partition table
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_root: 53.7 GB, 53687091200 bytes
        255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 6527 cylinders, total 104857600 sectors
        Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
        Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        Disk identifier: 0x00000000
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_root doesn't contain a valid partition table
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_home: 67.9 GB, 67880615936 bytes
        255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 8252 cylinders, total 132579328 sectors
        Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
        Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
        Disk identifier: 0x00000000
        
        Disk /dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_home doesn't contain a valid partition table
    If anybody have faced this problem or have an idea how to fix it, your help will be appreciated.

    /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file looks like:
    Code:
            # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
            #
            # It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
            # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
            #
            
            ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
            if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
              load_env
            fi
            set default="0"
            if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
              set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
              save_env saved_entry
              set prev_saved_entry=
              save_env prev_saved_entry
              set boot_once=true
            fi
            
            function savedefault {
              if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
                saved_entry="${chosen}"
                save_env saved_entry
              fi
            }
            
            function load_video {
              insmod vbe
              insmod vga
              insmod video_bochs
              insmod video_cirrus
            }
            
            set timeout=5
            ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    My /etc/grub2.cfg file have the menu entries:

    Code:
     #
        # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
        #
        # It is automatically generated by grub2-mkconfig using templates
        # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
        #
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
        if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
          load_env
        fi
        set default="0"
        if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
          set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
          save_env saved_entry
          set prev_saved_entry=
          save_env prev_saved_entry
          set boot_once=true
        fi
        
        function savedefault {
          if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
            saved_entry="${chosen}"
            save_env saved_entry
          fi
        }
        
        function load_video {
          insmod vbe
          insmod vga
          insmod video_bochs
          insmod video_cirrus
        }
        
        set timeout=5
        ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
                                                                   
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
        menuentry 'Fedora (3.3.4-3.fc16.x86_64)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
                load_video
                set gfxpayload=keep
                insmod gzio
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ext2
                set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
                search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 3cf7895c-b625-4a20-be2e-aee4192fcf1f
                echo 'Loading Fedora (3.3.4-3.fc16.x86_64)'
                linux   /vmlinuz-3.3.4-3.fc16.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_root ro rd.md=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_swap rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_root
                echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
                initrd /initramfs-3.3.4-3.fc16.x86_64.img
        }
        menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
                load_video
                set gfxpayload=keep
                insmod gzio
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ext2
                set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
                search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 3cf7895c-b625-4a20-be2e-aee4192fcf1f
                echo    'Loading Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64 ...'
                linux   /vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_root ro rd.md=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_swap rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_root
                echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
                initrd  /initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64.img
        }
        menuentry 'Fedora Linux, with Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64 (recovery mode)' --class fedora --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
                load_video
                set gfxpayload=keep
                insmod gzio
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ext2
                                                                                                                                        
                set root='(hd0,msdos5)'
                search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 3cf7895c-b625-4a20-be2e-aee4192fcf1f
                echo    'Loading Linux 3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64 ...'
                linux   /vmlinuz-3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/vg_vikaspc-lv_root ro single rd.md=0 rd.dm=0  KEYTABLE=us quiet SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 rhgb rd.luks=0 LANG=en_US.UTF-8 rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_swap rd.lvm.lv=vg_vikaspc/lv_root
                echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
                initrd  /initramfs-3.1.0-7.fc16.x86_64.img
        }
        ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
        ### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
        menuentry "Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda2)" --class windows --class os {
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ntfs
                set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
                search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root BE5EC8485EC7F6E5
                chainloader +1
        }
        menuentry "Windows Recovery Environment (loader) (on /dev/sda3)" --class windows --class os {
                insmod part_msdos
                insmod ntfs
                set root='(hd0,msdos3)'
                search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root A43ADDF33ADDC30A
                drivemap -s (hd0) ${root}
                chainloader +1
        }
        ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
        # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
        # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
        # the 'exec tail' line above.
        ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
                                                                                                                                          
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
        # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
        # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
        # the 'exec tail' line above.
        ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
        if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
          source $prefix/custom.cfg;
        fi
        ### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
        
        ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###
        ### END /etc/grub.d/90_persistent ###

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    I would expect your menuentries to be in the /boot/grub/grub.cfg but I don't use Fedora so don't know if that would have anything to do with it. I think part of the problem may revolve around the SFS filesystem type for windows. Also, I see sda3 is marked as active. Is that where your windows system files are? Do you have a repair option when you boot your windows installation CD? If you do, you should be able to go in and repair the master boot record which will enable you to boot windows. What are your intentions? Keep windows and Fedora? Something else? .

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    yes sda3 is the windows file system.

    I tried to boot boot windows with the installation CD, but doesn't detect any hard drive and hence ask for drivers to access the drive. In nutshell, the repair option is not doing any good.

    I want a dual boot system with fedora and windows. In present situation I want to restore windows, its my new laptop and the version is licensed. But if things doesn't go well, then I might format whole hard disk and do a fresh installation.

    I don't know much about sfs filesystem. Shall i restore it to ntfs? can u suggest me any tool for that?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    3,190
    Did you create the SFS filesystem? I've never used it and wouldn't be able to suggest anything. Which version of windows are you using? Exactly what happens when you boot with your windows CD? Maybe someone a little more familiar with windows will be able to help.

  5. #5
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I don't really know anything about it, but since SFS was designed for UNIX-like systems, and you have your Windows partitions labelled as such, that could be the problem.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    @yancek I never created SFS filesystem. I have no idea why it changed my drives from ntfs to sfs.
    I am using windows7.

    When i boot from windows cd, i go for the option of repairing, it searches for any recovery image, which it is not able to find. Then I also tried to check the option to format whole system, in that case it doesnt shows any hard drives on the system. It asks for driver to detect hard drives on the system. After that I restart system

    @jayd512 do u know best way to convert sfs to ntfs ?? or how shall i proceed with this?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    gparted.jpg

    this is screenshot of gparted of my hard disks, here it shows its a ntfs filesystem.

  8. #8
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    GParted output shows your partitions as NTFS... but fdisk shows SFS.

    Like I said, I don't really know much about SFS. But if GParted won't reformat them properly for you, I did find a few 3rd party tools that might work.
    Free convert sfs to ntfs Download - Convert sfs to ntfs for Windows
    How to erase hard drive by Active@ KillDisk? Low Level Format.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    I read some information about SFS, it is related to some dynamic disk concept. I dint go deep into it yet. Something I superficially understood is a filesystem can be sfs, but still be ntfs. Will read more once I get time.

    Then I found this link, h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Operating-Systems-and/Windows-will-not-boot-after-installing-Linux-on-HP-dv7t/m-p/1392047#M94195 (being a new user, hyperlink not allowed )

    Its the same problem that I have, and the person finally formated his whole disk, which I am reluctant to do.

    In the meantime I will try to use the tools you mentioned. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •