Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello, I have a Centos 5.4 installed in my old PC, it contain Asterisk, web pages ..., how can i clone all system to my new PC, or to connect ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    Clone HardDisk to another Pc


    Hello,

    I have a Centos 5.4 installed in my old PC, it contain Asterisk, web pages ..., how can i clone all system to my new PC, or to connect the old HardDisk to New PC?

    Thx in advance

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by louk_88 View Post
    Hello,

    I have a Centos 5.4 installed in my old PC, it contain Asterisk, web pages ..., how can i clone all system to my new PC, or to connect the old HardDisk to New PC?

    Thx in advance
    You could export it as nfs share and then mount the share on your new server.

    I've written a post detailing how to export an nfs share and another on how to mount nfs shares, here

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    another good solution is Clonezilla. it is a live linux boot cd that you use to boot your computer. i believe you need both disks physically attached to do it, but it works great, if that is not a deal breaker for you.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    i can connect 2 disk in the new PC, so to install the Clonezilla i'm obliged to install it in the new HardDisk, can i do this?

  5. #5
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,135
    Quote Originally Posted by louk_88 View Post
    i can connect 2 disk in the new PC, so to install the Clonezilla i'm obliged to install it in the new HardDisk, can i do this?
    It runs off the cd as a live session. No need to install it.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    ok, thank u, i will try it now

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    another way to easily copy a whole device if both plugged into the same pc:

    dd if=/dev/source_hdd of=/dev/destination_hdd

    If copying to a remote pc (and the destination is not the main hdd of the remote pc) you can also use ssh:
    dd if=/dev/local_source_hdd | ssh user@host dd of=/dev/remote_destination_hdd

    The dd command will write all data including blank blocks. Also, if you have a 500gb hdd and copy to a 1tb hdd, then the 1tb will show formatted as a 500gb. works best when source and destination are same size.

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Quote Originally Posted by campalm View Post
    another way to easily copy a whole device if both plugged into the same pc:

    dd if=/dev/source_hdd of=/dev/destination_hdd

    If copying to a remote pc (and the destination is not the main hdd of the remote pc) you can also use ssh:
    dd if=/dev/local_source_hdd | ssh user@host dd of=/dev/remote_destination_hdd

    The dd command will write all data including blank blocks. Also, if you have a 500gb hdd and copy to a 1tb hdd, then the 1tb will show formatted as a 500gb. works best when source and destination are same size.
    I believe clonezilla will also allow you to use dd to do the copying, if you choose (or if the filesystem is not fully supported).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •