Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a newbie, I found a redhat version 8 that my girlfriend dlded 2 years ago, I installed it today, but after installation a blue screen appears with 2 words ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

after install

I'm a newbie,
    I found a redhat version 8 that my girlfriend dlded 2 years ago, I installed it today, but after installation a blue screen appears with 2 words in strange signs to choose from, if I choose one , I need to give in a local host logon, now I feel that it is a stupid question but I realy don't know it, what do I have to fill in there?
    I only gave in a password in the installation, no username.
    Can someone help me out?

if you are being presented with the standard Linux logon screen, then you should enter the username and password that you created during install. If you did not create a normal user at install, shame on you (go stand in the corner and think about what you've done ).

What you need to do is login as the root user (please note that the userid is all in lower case - ie. no capitals. Linux is a case senseitive operating system). The password is the one that you setup during install.

Once in, please create a "normal" userid for your everyday use. The root (also known as superuser) userid is there for admin use (adding new userids, adding software, configuring, that sort of thing).

have fun, and seriously consider upgrading to Redhat 9 or Fedora Core 2 or 3, as Redhat 8 is a bit old.

Nerderello

ps. Merry Christmas

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

I can't remember if “8” has you enter regular username before or after installation.

Just type in “root” without the quotes and press enter. It will then ask for root's password. Enter it and press enter. If this takes you to the Gnome desktop environment, open a terminal and type:

redhat-config-users