Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I'm getting no signal from my VGA out lspci told me that: Code: VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9647 but finding a driver for a 64-bit fedora 16 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! ltnemo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    a day's walk west of chicago
    Posts
    26

    Question VGA support


    I'm getting no signal from my VGA out
    lspci told me that:
    Code:
    VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 9647
    but finding a driver for a 64-bit fedora 16 on an AMD is the bit that is proving tricky.
    any ideas are much appreciated
    >G

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    What does the VGA entry look like for:
    Code:
    lspci -knn
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! ltnemo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    a day's walk west of chicago
    Posts
    26
    i've got:

    Code:
    VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:9647]
            Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0599]
            Kernel modules: radeon

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,753
    This is standard stuff. If the system doesn't work in vesa mode, then there is a problem with either the controller or monitor.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Just Joined! ltnemo2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    a day's walk west of chicago
    Posts
    26
    the thing is, i can get everything working when i'm running windows so i'm pretty sure it's not a hardware issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •