Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Suddenly getting this error when publishing from frontpage 2003 "The server could not complete your request. Contact your internet service provider or web server administrator to make sure that the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105

    frontpage error


    Suddenly getting this error when publishing from frontpage 2003

    "The server could not complete your request. Contact your internet service provider or web server administrator to make sure that the server has frontpage extensions or sharepoint services installed."

    403 Forbidden
    Forbidden You don't have permission to access /_vti_bin/_vti_aut/author.exe on this server. Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

    ???

    I uninstalled the extentions, cleaned and reinstalled but same thing. I updated cPanel to 9.9.9C-13 also.

    What could it be?

    Specs:
    Fedora Core 2
    Cpanel 9.9.9 R-14

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    Don't use frontpage. It is a crappy program with lots of security implications. It is so crappy that no one wants to support it. Get a real HTML editor.

    Best,

    Samuel
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I recomend Quanta+ insted of frontpage

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105
    Both responses did not help, sorry.

    This is a hosting server not home server. It is not optional to go to the customers and say "FP is crappy use another html editor"

  5. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Do you not have FTP access to the server to upload your files manually...?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    25
    Im with sarumont, ftp gives a lot more control of the file upload and you can still use FrontPage as your WSIWG web page software there are some freeware ftp programs availabe one that comes to mind is cuteftp

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    105
    I already said that this is a *hosting* server. I cannot tell the clients to use FTP instead. Is simply does not work that way. The FP extensions has been working for a year now and suddenly stopped.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •