Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi I am new with Redhat and I have some problems. I want to ask a few questions. I installed Redhat 5.4 x64 ver. to my server. (I dont know ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installation problem on Redhat Enterprise server without licence

Hi
    I am new with Redhat and I have some problems. I want to ask a few questions.

I installed Redhat 5.4 x64 ver. to my server. (I dont know exactly which ver. did I installed so outputs are below.)

-----------------------------------------------
    # uname -a
    Linux epsilon 2.6.18-164.el5 #1 SMP Tue Aug 18 15:51:48 EDT 2009 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

# cat /etc/redhat-release
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 5.4 (Tikanga)
    -----------------------------------------------

So I tryed a lot of RPM files (both 32 and 64 bits) to install but I couldnt be able. I cant use "yum" either. Because we havent get licence so we are using evaluating mode.

I am curious about that is it possible to install "RPM" files on this server?

You can download a 30days evaluation subscription from redhat here
    https://www.redhat.com/products/ente.../download.html

Another way would be to install one of the free redhat clones such as CentOS or ScientificLinux.
    Btw, is there a specific reason you picked version 5.4?
    While version 5 is still widely in use and supported, it is advised to use 5.8.
    Or better, the latest 6 release: 6.2 (CentOS)
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your reply Irıthori.
    I have alredy download 30 day evaluation and installed.(rhel-server-5.4-x86_64-dvd) But I am asking that, is it possible to install "RPM" files on this server? Because I tryed and failed.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Yes, the command would be "rpm -i <your rpm package>"
    However,
    - the rpms need to be made for redhat 5 and x86_64