Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello I have installed Centos 5.8 with samba and Hylafax so far all is working as it should. i also installed Sambafax, so i am able to print a fax ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Centos 5.8 Cups, Hylafax & Sambafax

hello

I have installed Centos 5.8 with samba and Hylafax so far all is working as it should. i also installed Sambafax, so i am able to print a fax to a postscript printer in windows.

The problem is it works on 1 pc but on other pc's cups receives the print job however hylafax is not getting the fax job.

Cups is reporting the job has been completed.

on the pc tha is working correctly there is W7 X64 whit the PS driver of dell. The other pc's are a mix of W7 32 and 64 bit where i also installed the Dell driver i downloaded of the net.

can someone help me?

I'm not familiar with Hylafax, but I've had some experience of CUPS. You're setting up your fax service as a print server, I believe (correct me if this is rubbish). When you add it to your CUPS config, the server running the printer service can see the fax printer but the others can't? Is that true?

If so, there are some things you could check:

- Connect via a web browser to your CUPS interface on the server and make sure your fax printer is published - i.e. the printer is available to other computers.
    - Ensure that the computers logging on to the cups server have either Samba permissions to connect. The user needs to be logged onto the computer - if you're not using Windwos domain logon, make sure you browse to the computer and server and connect with a username/password combo before you start trying to print. If it's a Linux computer, it's usually enough to log-in using a network account or an account with the same UID/GID on both machines.