Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello bronzed_bison, I am having exactly the same problem that you describe and I don't know what to do...here is my case: I just installed a trial version of RHEL ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4

    RHEL6 configuration problems


    Hello bronzed_bison,

    I am having exactly the same problem that you describe and I don't know what to do...here is my case:

    I just installed a trial version of RHEL 6 on my computer. Already in the installation process I noticed something weird - during the install process, there is a stage where you can choose to configure the network now...that button was grayed out and there was nothing I could do about it - and just like you, I also couldn't configure the clock...

    Once the installation ended and the computer booted, there was no network. If I try to go to /etc/init.d/network, or NetworkManager - it doesn't exist - it gives me an error saying "lines such and such pertaining to network (dont remember the numbers) do not exist in /etc/sysconfig - i.e., there is no network configuration whatsoever.

    I have no idea what I can do about this - I think maybe like in your case, RHEL is not recognizing my network card? How can I know if this is the problem? And how can I solve it?

    I have two hard drives in this computer, in one, I have an Ubuntu installation, in the other, I have the RHEL.

    This is the info about my network card which I took from the Ubuntu install (which has networking working 100%, out of the box, no extra config needed) - I have both ethernet card and a wireless card, both in the motherboard:

    sudo lshw -class network
    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet
    vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
    logical name: eth1
    version: c0
    size: 100Mbit/s
    capacity: 1Gbit/s
    width: 64 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vpd bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
    configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=atl1c driverversion=1.0.1.0-NAPI duplex=full firmware=N/A latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100Mbit/s
    resources: irq:47 memory:f7d00000-f7d3ffff ioport:e000(size=12
    *-network DISABLED
    description: Wireless interface
    product: RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
    vendor: Ralink corp.
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
    logical name: wlan0
    version: 00
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rt2800pci driverversion=3.2.0-32-generic firmware=N/A latency=0 link=no multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
    resources: irq:17 memory:f7c00000-f7c0ffff

    I read all your posts with attention, but I dont have much experience and confess I got a bit lost - any help you can give me would be highly appreciated!

    redhive

    Quote Originally Posted by bronzed_bison View Post
    Hi,

    I recently installed RHEL 6 on my machine (forgive the flavour: I don't have much of a choice in the matter).

    The OS has been unable to detect my Ethernet network. This was foreshadowed during the install, when I couldn't connect to the Redhat servers or to the time-sychronisation servers. (this isn't a hardware issue: I can connect to the Internet through Windows).

    I'm not sure at what level the problem is occurring. lspci spits out (among other things):

    Code:
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM57788 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe (rev 01)
    This is the right controller.

    ifconfig spits out:

    Code:
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:960 (960.0 b)  TX bytes:960 (960.0 b)
    This is just the loopback address. There is no mention of eth0. Also, there are no network scripts under /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts for eth0.

    Some other people seem to have this problem as well, but I can't find any solved threads. Please let me know if anything can be done. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Hi, redhive. Welcome to LinuxForums!

    Instead of leaving it tacked onto the end of a thread that was well over a year old, I moved your post to a new thread. You should get some better visibility this way.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Thank you very much jayd512, you are absolutely right!

  4. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    RHEL is a paid distro. You probably don't want that. If you do want that, may I suggest that you contact Redhat and use the self help provided with a paid subscription?
    If you want to try RHEL without paying for it, then look at CentOs. It's free.

    EDIT: Just noticed you said a trial version. I didn't see that on their website. Do you have a CD/DVD? A Download?
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 10-17-2012 at 12:33 AM. Reason: see EDIT
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi MikeTobb,

    Yes, I have a DVD, I am studying for the RHCE exam and in my course they gave us this one month trial DVD for our studies.

    In this thread (eth0-problems-rhel-6-a-3.html#post907854), the user bronzed_bison says he found a solution, I tried to follow his step by step but couldn't pass even step one as I did not find which driver to download from the broadcom site

    Thanks,

    redhive

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by redhive View Post
    Hi MikeTobb,

    Yes, I have a DVD, I am studying for the RHCE exam and in my course they gave us this one month trial DVD for our studies.

    In this thread (eth0-problems-rhel-6-a-3.html#post907854), the user bronzed_bison says he found a solution, I tried to follow his step by step but couldn't pass even step one as I did not find which driver to download from the broadcom site

    Thanks,

    redhive
    I would go with CentOS as Mike said, same thing as RHEL except it's free

    As for your problem, you don't have a broadcom nic, so you can't get the drivers for broadcom. You need drivers for Atheros AR8151

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4
    ooops - my bad thanks for drawing my attention to it, I have no idea why I thought it was broadcom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •