Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I recently switched to Fedora 17 from Ubuntu and have encountered an issue regarding the ability to mount an iPhone. iPhone's no longer mount when using this distribution. This didn't ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5

    Mount an iPhone?


    I recently switched to Fedora 17 from Ubuntu and have encountered an issue regarding the ability to mount an iPhone. iPhone's no longer mount when using this distribution. This didn't happen on Ubuntu. How can I get my iPhone to mount?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    Hi,

    Do you have the libimobiledevice package installed? I think you'll need it. If you do, make sure you the most updated version (via the updates Fedora repo).

    If you already do have it installed, can you post what commands you are using to attempt to mount, and any error messages you get?

  3. #3
    Linux User jkwilborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    285
    I also have an iPhone 4 and cannot mount it under Debian. I get an "Unable to mount Jack's iPhone Unhandled lockdown error (-4)" then the kernel crashes and I get a disconnected Ethernet connection notice. I have the name "Jack's iPhone" as the name of my hotspot on the iPhone. I have the libimobile1 library and a iphe.... something that is supposed to handle the iPhone as an Ethernet connection via USB port. I don't have the GUI's that is described so I'm wondering if I'm still missing something.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Check out GTK-pod. I use Android phones so I don't really know if this works well. If you do try it, let us know how it goes. I'm sure it's in your system repos.
    gtkpod iPod Manager
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #5
    Linux User jkwilborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    285
    Mike thanks for the suggestion, I will give it a try although I'm not really using like a 'song' storage or something like that. What I'm up to is using my hotspot on the iPhone 4 to go through the USB port to act like an Ethernet connection. Basically to get the machine on-line.... It's been a tough fight for something so simple!

    Thanks, will get back to you...

    Jack

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Debian Stable AMD-64 (Gnome 3)
    Posts
    81
    Check with Fedora's website on whether if there's a way for them to mount iPhones, I run Debian so the story here is the device would be mounted on afc://. In this instance, it's on the gvfs folder in your home directory, however gtkpod does have problems where it might crash upon startup and ends with a seg fault error.

  8. #7
    Linux User jkwilborn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    285
    G-Known,

    Thanks for the tip. I can't locate any 'libmobil' using the Debian site search for 'any package containing' as I also checked via apritiude. I will look at Fedoras site and see if anything rings a bell. I have found the .gvfs folder but it has no contents. Also, my iPhone seems to mount, but it (the iPhone) keeps asking to "trust this computer?" and never stops. The app on Linux says the device is not answering. So, something isn't talking properly. I have since moved as this was posted Jan 2013, with a good Internet connection (Cox) that is pretty fast and dependable. I still have an iPhone (although an upgrade to a 5s), and would like it to interface. I have copied some photos off the iPhone, but it also dumps all the CD Covers as photos. It would be nice to have some version of iTunes or the like on Linux as I hate boot back to Windows for this and my scanner. I will keep an eye open here for any information.

    Where is the afc:// supposed to be? Is it created by the package that is interfacing or is there something else needed?

    Thanks

    Jack

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •