Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux and am installing my first copy of Red Hat 5.4 x86 64 bit on a virtual server. The physical box is a Dell PowerEdge 2900 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red Hat Networking Problem

I am new to Linux and am installing my first copy of Red Hat 5.4 x86 64 bit on a virtual server. The physical box is a Dell PowerEdge 2900 with dual quad core processors and 16 GB ram. The Network card is a 1 Gb Intel EtherExpress/1000 card that I am connecting through to access the vSphere 5 hypervisor. I was able to install the Linux OS and everything looks good. I gave the RH VM 100 GB of disk space. If I look at the configuration on the Vsphere for networking everything looks good. However my VM server will not connect to the internet. The network card says it is configured and active but will not connect. When I try I get nothing, the Firefox says Address not Found for any address entered. I have used both static and dynamic IPs for my system.

Any Ideas where to look?

Trusted Penguin
    Hello and welcome!

Hopefully you can use your VM host's internet connection. I'm not familiar w/VMware so I can't speak to that.

But as far as the Linux side, you need a couple of things, namely:

1) a default gateway (i.e., a way to get out onto your router and beyond to the internet)

2) DNS servers (i.e., a way to resolve an ip address, like 1.2.3.4, to a domain name, like google.com)

for the default gw, you probably want to use the ip address of your VM host that "faces" your Linux guest. it is probably on the same subnet. find your Linux ip address first by looking at the output of "ifconfig". say you see 192.168.1.2 as the ip for eth0. Now look on your host for the ip address information and look for one on the same subnet, like 192.168.1.50, for example. so that is the ip address that you probably want to use as your default gateway.