Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hello all, I have been in out of fourms like crazy for a internet connection problem I've been having in windows 7 ever since I dual booted fedora 17. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3

    Grub2 detecting windows 7 recovery partition as bootable OS


    Hello all, I have been in out of fourms like crazy for a internet connection problem I've been having in windows 7 ever since I dual booted fedora 17. I finally noticed last night that grub is using my recovery partition for windows as the booting OS here is what I know sda1 is 90g of my things and windows, sda2 is the recovery partition for windows 20g, and sda3 "was" about 900g of "free space" allocated I believe hince the quotes. I did the custom partitioning for fedora making a LVM but I don't remember the specifics, I know I shrunk the 900g to 500 and used what was left for the LVM. Well anyways to get back on track how would I configure grub2 to point to sda1 as the windows boot partition?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    The grub OS sniffer (not quite sure that's it names but anyways) shows at the grub loader screen 4 options 1. Fedora Linux followed by its kernal and update numbers. 2. Just "fedora Linux" (what was there after I use the live install) 3. Fedora advanced options. And 4. Windows 7 on (/dev/sda2)

  3. #3
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Boot up Fedora and execute this in Terminal :
    Code:
    su -c 'fdisk -l'
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    3
    as much as i appricate your quick reply this laptop i just bought a month ago (dell inspiron 15r-n5110) has begun to show its true colors. a day ago the screen has horizontal miscolored lines running across it and i called dell so i will be sending it off for them to fix and more than likly they will flash everything off it and restore it to factory setting but if you care to see the results of that command here they are

    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc9e0e000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 2048 206847 102400 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 206848 41166847 20480000 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda3 41166848 1065166847 512000000 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda4 1065166848 1953525167 444179160 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 1065168896 1066192895 512000 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 1066194944 1953523711 443664384 8e Linux LVM

    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_preston-lv_swap: 5502 MB, 5502926848 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 669 cylinders, total 10747904 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes


    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_preston-lv_root: 53.7 GB, 53687091200 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 6527 cylinders, total 104857600 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes


    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_preston-lv_home: 395.1 GB, 395103436800 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 48035 cylinders, total 771686400 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes

    i know i probly messed it up since i wasnt to experianced with installing linux but no method would work off the live install besides "custom" i didnt wanna wipe windows off it, so that elimiated complete partition wipe, i had no other linux partitions on it so that talleys off the second optinon, 3rd was shrink exsisting partitions.. that didnt work. and there was one more i forget what it was but the jist was. none of the options worked or were what i was looking for. hince my messed up partitions :/

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Partition structure looks good to me and problem was somewhere else. LVM is not recommended for new users because its not easy to manage LVMs.

    Next time, create new Linux partitions manually before starting installation. If Dell restore your Laptop to factory settings, do post output of fdisk -l command again. We will post step by step instructions for whole process.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •