Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I'm new to Linux, new to the board, and this is my first post. Well, actually, I played with RedHat 7 several years ago, but I forgot all that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

FC3 init hangs after "Starting cpuspeed"

Hi. I'm new to Linux, new to the board, and this is my first post. Well, actually, I played with RedHat 7 several years ago, but I forgot all that I learned about Linux in the intervening years except for the ls and pwd commands. Repressed memories of grep, man, and su are starting to come back to me as my dissatisfaction with certain other popular windowing operating systems grows. (Is it OK to say that here? )

I've installed FC3 on a new 160GB drive on a ABIT KV8-MAX3 AMD 64 system. I downloaded the AMD 64 ISOs to install from. My graphics card is an ATI 9600 with dual monitors. I did a "everything" install of FC3. Probably a total waste of time, as I doubt I'll use a fraction of the packages loaded, but I couldn't resist.

I've had two problems so far. The first one I got past. I know how I did it, but I don't know why it works.

Problem 1: On a hands-free boot, rhgb or not, the system hangs fairly early in the boot process and starts screaming at me with a continual high tone, low tone, like the sirens on Italian police cars (in the movies that I watch, anyway). I edited the kernel parms at the grub screen to add pci=noacpi (also, acpi=off seems to work), and that got me past the screaming boot hang problem. I have no idea why this worked, but I read other posts where people tried that, and it worked.