Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm using a computer for which I have no control over its updates, and do not even have root access. It was recently updated to Fedora 17 (I am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Problems with gcc 4.7.0 after an update to Fedora 17

Hi,

I'm using a computer for which I have no control over its updates, and do not even have root access. It was recently updated to Fedora 17 (I am not sure whether it was running Fedora 15 or 16 before, but I can find out if it's important). I'm running into problems reinstalling a Perl module which says it needs recompilation, and the errors look to trace back to gcc 4.7.0. I had another error with gcc 4.7.0 after the update as well, but it was fixed using a symlink... I'm not sure whether that's the best fix. Details are below.

I should mention that I'm relatively new to installing packages on Linux machines, so sorry for any Newbie mistakes!

Here are some details.

Before the update, both the Perl module which is now giving me errors and gcc 4.7.0 were working perfectly.

Now, when I check for the Perl modules PDL::LinearAlgebra and Astro::Cosmology, I get an error that I need to recompile them against the newly installed PDL. This is apparantly a known error with the update, and the solution is simply to recompile them. Updating Astro::Cosmology worked, but when I try to update PDL::LinearAlgebra I get errors. I used the command <perl -MCPAN -e 'force("install", "PDL::LinearAlgebra")'>. The make failed: after a call to gcc involving -llapack and -lblas, I get errors that it can not find -llapack and -lblas. The end of the output is below.

gcc -shared -O2 -g -pipe -Wall -Wp,-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fexceptions -fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4 -m64 -mtune=generic -Wl,-z,relro Trans.o -o ../blib/arch/auto/PDL/LinearAlgebra/Trans/Trans.so \
    -llapack -lblas \

/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -llapack