Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I have a Centos 6.3 virtual box built with kernel 2.6.32. The primary issue is that I want to debug ext4 module. Now I got the Rpm stuff etc; prepared ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8

    Issue with ext4


    I have a Centos 6.3 virtual box built with kernel 2.6.32.
    The primary issue is that I want to debug ext4 module.

    Now I got the Rpm stuff etc; prepared a DEBUG custom kernel build and a module build for ext4(made it as a loadable module in menuconfig). Installed everything and I booted from this new kernel. I tried to debug the same from a host by using the recently built vmlinux and ext4.ko and loaded the symbol file. But the debugger does not break at any ext4 function which I intend to.

    My guess is that since the Centos has default ext4 enabled, even for custom kernel it is not allowing me to debug it because I have to do a insert module(insmod ext4.ko). So I tried that as well; but it says error - in use. Again reason may be that the root partition itself uses it so I cannot unload it also. So its like a chicken and egg problem.

    I tried lot of other stuffs but unfortunately none seem to work.
    Can somebody please suggest me (1) how to insert ext4 exactly (2) if that is not needed, then atleast I want to debug the ext4.

    Sincere thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    Never debugged ext4.
    But if you want to load/unload the ext4 kernelmodule, you could install your centos system with xfs only.
    Grub can read xfs just like ext2/3/4, so it should boot.

    Just leave a bit of space on your harddisc for a ext4 testpartition.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    thanks a lot for the suggestion.
    So just to understand(from my side), it means I will build a centos system with xfs only. But I tried to install Centos 6.3 with the iso.
    So even with the "Create Custom Layout" in the Centos Installer, I do not see the option of XFS in the dropdown menu for the partition that I'm trying to.

    Am I doing anything wrong here ?

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    It is there.
    Last in the dropdown menu.
    You can choose "format as" ext2/3/4, lvm, raid, swap and then xfs.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Hi,

    sorry to repeat it again, but please help me understand if I'm doing something wrong -

    I'm using the CentOS-6.3-x86_64-LiveCD.iso. So once I boot the same and install it and then try creating "Custom layout", I see only these options - ext2,ext3,ext4,lvm,raid,swap and vfat.
    So basically I can see all the options listed by you except the xfs.

    Thanks a lot

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    Hmm, with the CentOS-6.3-x86_64-bin-DVD1.iso xfs is definitely there.
    I am just downloading CentOS-6.3-x86_64-minimal.iso and CentOS-6.3-x86_64-netinstall.iso to see if xfs is an option there.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    Oki, it seems only an installation via CentOS-6.3-x86_64-bin-DVD1.iso offers xfs.
    Which is a bit strange, as it seems a) fundamental and b) the xfs rpms are not big.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    oh ok. thanks for the info.
    I will try downloading CentOS-6.3-x86_64-bin-DVD1.iso. But again CentOS-6.3-x86_64-bin-DVD2.iso will also be needed mostly I suppose as a part of installation.

  9. #9
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,356
    Whether or not the second iso is needed depends on the package groups you choose for the initial install.
    A server only install without gui will only need the first.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Well, now I was able to see the same. But unfortunately even this DVD iso does not allow xfs root partition
    It says - Bootable partitions cannot be on an xfs file system.

    This was the similar problem when I tried to make it ext3 as boot.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •