Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I want to backup my server. This is a brand new server and I tried clonezilla but it failed I am trying to get a full backup where - I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48

    bare metal backup


    I want to backup my server.
    This is a brand new server and I tried clonezilla but it failed

    I am trying to get a full backup where - I pop in a disk and reboot the server and the o/s on the disk comes into play and I am able to backup the hard disk

    This is a Raid 5 configuration and could you please guide me to some enterprise level backup software either paid or free

  2. #2
    awc
    awc is offline
    Just Joined! awc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    40
    If you want free, get a livecd and use dd. If you want to pay, try Acronis

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    I tried Acronis
    It does not work
    Not sure how to use dd
    The problem is that this is Raid 5
    clonezilla is not able to handle it since this is a
    brand new server HP DL380p Gen 8
    I guess this is a new version of Raid controller.

  4. #4
    awc
    awc is offline
    Just Joined! awc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    40
    6 Examples to Backup Linux Using dd Command (Including Disk to Disk)

    Boot into a livecd and check the HDD's to see if the RAID array is being recognized. If the livecd has the right drivers and your array is picked up by the system, then you should be able to use dd and create images.

    A simple way to backup your whole HDD would be:
    Code:
    # dd if=/dev/sda of=/path/to/storage/sdabk-`date +%F`.img
    All of this is assuming you're using hardware RAID.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    Say I have a HDD of 300 GB (sda) which I partition as follows
    a) / 50 GB (/dev/sda1)
    b) Swap 50 GB
    c) boot 500 MB
    d) remaining (/dev/sda2)

    Now I take backup of each /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2

    The /dev/sda1 is 10 percent used and /dev/sda2 is 4 percent used

    Now if I use PING or clonezilla to backup only the partitions sda1 and sda2
    and If I replace the HDD of 300 GB with 290 GB
    will clonezilla / PING be able to restore the partitions considering that
    the space on the new sda1 and sda2 is a little less than original ....
    But considering that usage is 10 percent and 4 percent ...does it matter ?

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie amithad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    160

  7. #7
    awc
    awc is offline
    Just Joined! awc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    North America
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by rjnlinux View Post
    Say I have a HDD of 300 GB (sda) which I partition as follows
    a) / 50 GB (/dev/sda1)
    b) Swap 50 GB
    c) boot 500 MB
    d) remaining (/dev/sda2)

    Now I take backup of each /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda2

    The /dev/sda1 is 10 percent used and /dev/sda2 is 4 percent used

    Now if I use PING or clonezilla to backup only the partitions sda1 and sda2
    and If I replace the HDD of 300 GB with 290 GB
    will clonezilla / PING be able to restore the partitions considering that
    the space on the new sda1 and sda2 is a little less than original ....
    But considering that usage is 10 percent and 4 percent ...does it matter ?
    SourceForge.net: Clonezilla: Restoring to a smaller hard disk

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    This is what I found

    Clonezilla is available in two models
    32 bit and 64 bit amd (amd 64 bit is also suitable for intel 64 bit)

    However both the above do not work for me.

    My drive is configured with physical disk/ logical volume manager lvm2


    So To solve the issue I am trying the following
    I downloaded a number of Linux Live CD's
    none of them worked with the commands

    pvscan, vgscan, vgdisplay, lvdisplay

    only one of them Knoppix works with the above commands

    so I am using Knoppix Live cd 6.7.1 2011-09-14 English version

    I booted the server with the Live cd hence ensuring that the storage array disks (Raid 5)
    are not being used....so No open files
    Next I ran the following commands


    pvscan - this scans for physical volumes
    vgscan - this scans for logical volumes

    I saw that the logical volumes are inactive
    I ran the following command
    vgchange -a y (this will make all logical volumes active)
    next I mounted the external HDD

    dd if=<logical Volume name> | gzip > <path of external hdd>/image.gz

    in my case the exact command was

    dd if=/dev/vg_proddb12/lv_home | gzip > /home/extdisk/back_20121221_dd/image_home.gz

    I hope you guys comment on my solution.

    It has been a long struggle to understand stuff in Linux

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    The software does recognize lvm2 - that is good
    but it does not have the ability to backup and restore a partition

    so if I am trying to backup and restore 50 GB partition of a 800 GB disk it cannot do this and asks me to backup the full 800 GB disk

    Even so...the disk size is reported incorrectly by Redo Backup software.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    883
    So...my personal opinion is to think outside the box.

    I don't think any server should be installed bare metal. VMWare ESXi is free software now. Install that as the bare metal storage, and create a virtual machine, and assign it all the resources.

    Now, when you want to backup your files, it's as simple as cloning the hdd image to a new storage location. You could even do this while it's running by cloning the VM to a data store (network storage).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •