Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have two networks eth0 and eth 1 connected on a server, both are using different external IP address, gateway, DNS, Netmask. I can reboot my system and sometimes eth1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3

    Two Network Cards With Different Settings For Internet Access (Newbie)


    I have two networks eth0 and eth 1 connected on a server, both are using different external IP address, gateway, DNS, Netmask.

    I can reboot my system and sometimes eth1 is accessible from SSH, and other times eth0 is accessible. Then sometimes eth1 & eth0 will just stop being pingable alltogether


    Please help i'm totally new to linux

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,380
    hi and welcome

    You are most likely facing a routing issue.
    This document might help you to implement split access and (potentially) load balancing over the two ISPs.
    Linux Advanced Routing & Traffic Control HOWTO
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! msohail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    hi and welcome

    You are most likely facing a routing issue.
    This document might help you to implement split access and (potentially) load balancing over the two ISPs.
    Linux Advanced Routing & Traffic Control HOWTO

    Hi Deerk

    I second Irithori. Check the gateway of each ethernet and set see to it that they are not the same for both Ethernets. For example 192.168.0.1 for eth0 and 192.168.1.1 for eth1. Of course you will have to connect each Ethernet to its respective router and cannot use one router for different gateway unless you have a VLAN setup.

    Jazak Allah
    Sohail

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    My question would be does the same ip address come up on the same card every time after reboot? What you are seeing could be a case where the system changes the interface on reboot, which I have seen before. I fixed this by adding the MAC Address of the card to the config file I wanted it to boot with.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks a lot..

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    So has your problem been fixed? If so could you post here what you did so the next user searching might find the answer. Thnx

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •