Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi all, I have a CentOS 5.8 Server installed. and have installed and configured Oracle Database (10gR2) on it. But once I start Oracle Database one the server, it stops ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21

    Unable to ping Centos (5.8) after starting Oracle Database


    Hi all,
    I have a CentOS 5.8 Server installed. and have installed and configured Oracle Database (10gR2) on it. But once I start Oracle Database one the server, it stops to ping even my gateway router (which is just the next hop for any packet). and if i stop the oracle instance and restart the eth1 controller, the server starts to ping the network just nicely. I have also checked TOP on server while Oracle Database is running, it show hardly 2% CPU usage and around 950MB (of 1GB) RAM, and 0MB of SWAP utilization.
    So can anyone help me on the issue, as i am really confussed about this behaviour of the Server. As i don't know how to start the troubleshoot also in this case.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    Check the route table (the "route" command) and run "ifconfig -a" before and after starting Oracle to see if it has altered your network configuration.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    Hi Rubberman, here is the O/P of route and ifconfig commands
    [oracle@orahome ~]$ /sbin/route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    10.132.41.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
    169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
    default 10.132.41.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth1

    [oracle@orahome ~]$ /sbin/ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:55:70:E7
    BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:55:70:E6
    inet addr:10.132.41.3 Bcast:10.132.41.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::202:b3ff:fe55:70e6/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:67 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:67
    TX packets:88 errors:22 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:22
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:10133 (9.8 KiB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:29058 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:29058 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4215615 (4.0 MiB) TX bytes:4215615 (4.0 MiB)

    sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
    NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    10.132.41.3 is my host IP and 10.132.41.1 is default gateway (or router) IP. And for routing table of kernal, i don't know how the 169.254.0.0 network came, as their is no network corresponding to this IP in our network.
    Also, pl tell what is sit0 in ifconfig -a.
    One more thing, now after i have restarted my Server, it is not at able to ping to any host in network, even i have tried to restart the network card also.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    Is this after Oracle has started? If so, also post these metrics before you start it, or after you shut it down and can get on the internet again.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    this output is the same for both before and after starting Oracle.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks Rubberman, I think this was a NIC card issue, because as i told you that later after rebooting system i was not able to ping the entire network. Now i have changed NIC card, and the problem seems to be solved. I still have a few questions un-answered, but i think i can figure that out.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,380
    Glad to hear it! Sometimes, hardware just fails... Often we look for software problems, when we think that our hardware is healthy, even if it isn't... Diagnosing these sort of problems is what led me to shave off all of my hair - at least now I am not tearing it out!
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Rubberman View Post
    Diagnosing these sort of problems is what led me to shave off all of my hair - at least now I am not tearing it out!
    well though this problem is solved, but their is another problem which has arised. This System though is on the network and i can ping this system with its IP, but first i cannot ping the system with its hostname, and second, if another (windows) system in the same network assigns the IP given to this system, their is no conflict message received by windows system, and even the IP is assigned to the windows user. forcing me to look for the windows system and asking the user to change his IP.
    I guess this time this both are software issues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •