Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Irithori
Hi all, I am completely new to Linux and my new VPS - I'm just trying to give it a go really! I am running CentOS with cPanel and am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Beginner DNS Issues

Hi all,

I am completely new to Linux and my new VPS - I'm just trying to give it a go really! I am running CentOS with cPanel and am having problems with my DNS setup.

I have my own domain (richardbeddington.com) that I cannot seem to get to point to the IP I have setup for it on my WHM.

When running "host" or "dig" I am getting a SERVFAIL error. Although when I run
    Code:
    host -t ns richardbeddington.com
    I can see the two nameservers that I've set it up to:

Code:
    richardbeddington.com.	83448	IN	NS	ns2.vps-10.com.
    richardbeddington.com.	83448	IN	NS	ns1.vps-10.com.
    Now I don't know whether I should have it to some sort of local nameserver, or whether I should explicitly reference this domain in etc/resolve.conf, but some of the default domains that I have for this VPS (just some subdomains of the hosting company) don't seem to be setup in this way and work fine.

If you need any other details obviously I can post them here.

Thanks for your time,
    Rich

Hi and welcome

to me it seems, the two nameservers ns1/2.vps-10.com are running,
    but have no information about the zone richardbeddington.com.

I assume, these ns are run by your hosting company and there are methods in place to manage dns zones.
    Maybe there is a webinterface/customer login of that hosting company, that you can use?
    RichieAHB likes this.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Hi and welcome

to me it seems, the two nameservers ns1/2.vps-10.com are running,
    but have no information about the zone richardbeddington.com.