Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I use GNOME, my graphics controller is an Intel 82815, I have tried different resolutions, and yes it is every application. When I click on the applications menu and scroll ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9

    response


    I use GNOME, my graphics controller is an Intel 82815, I have tried different resolutions, and yes it is every application. When I click on the applications menu and scroll down to games, the games don't show up until I scroll my mouse across. Some menus popup right away, but some are invisible till i scroll across like games and preferences. Other wise, everthing looks great. Sometimes I'll open an application and then close it, my desktop icons disapear, but then I just run my mouse across them and they reapear.
    Thanks for the help guys!

    -Ryan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    do you have any other window managers installed?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    nope

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    can you maybe install kde or fluxbox or something, and see what happens with that? cos if it works, then your problem is most likely GNOME, not X. But if you have the same problem with KDE or fluxbox or Enlightenment, then we'll know that X is the culprit.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    I can do that, thanks!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    let me know how that goes

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    you bet.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    9
    I tried KDE and a number of other ones and still had the same problem. I was able to specify my monitor and it gave me different screen resolutions. That helped a little, but still acts up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •