Find the answer to your Linux question:
This IS a fedora question, though I will give background about Vista experiences as lead up. I am a total noob to Linux (though not completely stupid - I dislike ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Using Commercial VPN

This IS a fedora question, though I will give background about Vista experiences as lead up.

I am a total noob to Linux (though not completely stupid - I dislike windows after all

Background:
    The situation revolves around using a VPN, namely, Hide My Ass' (HMA) commercial product for which I have a 2-user licence. I have been completely unable to connect to their services for several months now.

I live in China right now (a teacher) and many of you will have heard of the Great Firewall of China. Many web sites are blocked. Hence, to have anything resembling "normal" Internet access requires a VPN. Hell, even google search is blocked more often than not!

The Chinese government is very methodical about blocking anything to do with VPN services, and I'd be very tempted to believe that my failure to connect is due to the IP addresses of their servers being blocked.

...Except my wife can get on. it can take a long time to find an "open" or accessible server, but she does get on. She also says she finds it easier to connect with just the PPTP; after all, we are not using this for security, but just to get "over the wall". Plus, some US sites actively block address from China, so...

My machine refused to connect using PPTP; some vague message about possible network settings which I did not understand. Most frequently, attempting an OpenVPN connect would tell me it failed because 127.0.0.1 actively refused the connection. Uh, isn't that MY computer? That makes no sense to me at all.

and so...