Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi everybody i installed rhel 5 i am using centos 5 repos i am getting error like this when trying to install yum yum list all Loading "installonlyn" plugin Loading ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    32

    using centos repos for rhel


    hi everybody i installed rhel 5 i am using centos 5 repos i am getting error like this when trying to install yum
    yum list all
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Loading "rhnplugin" plugin
    This system is not registered with RHN.
    RHN support will be disabled.
    Setting up repositories
    not using ftp, http[s], or file for repos, skipping - 5Server is not a valid release or hasnt been released yet
    Error: Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: base

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Quote Originally Posted by yaswanth4b7 View Post
    This system is not registered with RHN.
    RHEL needs to be registered with Red Hat in order to function to its full extent. If you're going to use the CentOS repos anyway, you should look to installing CentOS.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,378
    Yes, I second that.

    While centos is a redhat clone, there are some subtle differences in packages.
    So updating might eventually not work as expected.

    And as you intend to use centos repos anyway, there is absolutely no reason to not install centos in the first place.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    Yes, I second that.

    While centos is a redhat clone, there are some subtle differences in packages.
    So updating might eventually not work as expected.

    And as you intend to use centos repos anyway, there is absolutely no reason to not install centos in the first place.

    You have to configure yum. Did you configure yum on centOS?
    To configure yum there are several steps availble first configure it then it will work

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    41
    Any reason you are using CentOS packages? RHEL has a wonderful package list and system. If you want to use RHEL for free by getting CentOS repos, just use CentOS. I prefer RHEL because of the support and updates, but CentOS is very similar;

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    34
    As per process RHEL needs to update only from RHEL repository , While you can configure your YUM /etc/yum.d/ directory , to disable in accessing the RHEL repository and configure to access the CENTOS repository instead, This is doable
    You can remove the repo-name of the RHEL
    and
    Download and Install RPMFUSION for your centos

    But it would be better to stick on to the pre defined process

    THanks
    Philix

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •