Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am currently trying to install F18 and keep getting the following error "You have not created a bootloader stage1 target device" I found this online BIOS Boot , so ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47

    Error while installing Fedora 18


    I am currently trying to install F18 and keep getting the following error "You have not created a bootloader stage1 target device"

    I found this online BIOS Boot, so I created the BIOS Boot partition and I still get the error when I click in "Finish Partitioning" button.

    Any other suggestions?

    BTW. I am trying to install in an ASUS n56vj-dh71

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    There is a bug report out for this HERE
    I would suggest you re-DL the latest version from HERE which should have fixed this issue.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47
    I downloaded a fresh copy of fedora before beginning installation from here. Same download as you suggested. I will try the Network Install iso

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    HERE is a mirror list. Might want to check this one out for something close to you.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47
    same error I'm getting frustrated. I really want to use Fedora as my main OS

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    For fun can you download CentOS Minimal Install and try to install this? This file is not large by any means but it will tell you if it is Fedora or your system that has the problem. If CentOS installs and boots then you can install Fedora and tell it to overwrite the OS that was installed but not partition the drive.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47
    Will try this, thank you for the suggestion

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47
    I decided to give it a try one more time with Secure Boot disabled, Fast Boot disabled, and Enable CSM...Now another problem has arised.

    Note: I was reading that by Enableing CSM I was not going to be able to boot Windows, but the fact is that Windows booted normally (before installing Fedora).

    Below what I did.

    Followed the same process, booted with Fedora DVD, when selecting the Partition Layout it complained about needing a 1MB BIOS Boot, so I created it and this time I was able to finish the installation.

    Now, After installing Fedora, nothing is booting, I just get the BIOS settings screen and the only boot option is the CD/DVD media.

    I can boot Fedora Live CD and installed gparted. All the partitions are there, So I am sure Fedora installed correctly and
    I still have Windows, but somehow the boot got messed up. I would need to maybe reinstall grub or something??

    gparted

    Any help with this is much appreciated.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Sounds like you are going to have to re-install grub.

    Boot into the live cd and run the following command;

    Code:
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    47
    If you refer to my link. Do I need to reinstall in sda7? Which is the BIOS boot. Or sda1? According to gparted, that is boot for windows.

    If I reinstall in sda1, Will it override the current windows boot?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •