Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
echo $path and echo $PATH can display different path?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    23

    Different between path & PATH?


    echo $path and echo $PATH can display different path?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    30
    Yes, they can be different, because Linux is case-sensitive. The correct environment variable name is
    Code:
    PATH
    , so
    Code:
    path
    should be empty. If it has a normal-looking path on your system, perhaps some customized script mistakenly sets the wrong one.

  3. #3
    drl
    drl is offline
    Linux Engineer drl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN, USA / CentOS, Debian, Slackware, {Free, Open, Net}BSD, Solaris
    Posts
    1,286
    Hi.

    Note also for csh / tcsh:
    Code:
           path    A list of directories in which to look for executable commands.
                   A null word specifies the current directory.  If there is no
                   path variable then only full path names will execute.  path is
                   set by the shell at startup from the PATH environment variable
                   or, if PATH does not exist, to a system-dependent default
                   something like `(/usr/local/bin /usr/bsd /bin /usr/bin .)'.
    excerpt from man tcsh, q.v.

    The csh / tcsh shells will cause one setting to track the other, however, so they will not have different values, with the exceptions noted above for non-extant names.

    Best wishes ... cheers, drl
    Last edited by drl; 04-09-2013 at 08:38 AM.
    Welcome - get the most out of the forum by reading forum basics and guidelines: click here.
    90% of questions can be answered by using man pages, Quick Search, Advanced Search, Google search, Wikipedia.
    We look forward to helping you with the challenge of the other 10%.
    ( Mn, 2.6.n, AMD-64 3000+, ASUS A8V Deluxe, 1 GB, SATA + IDE, Matrox G400 AGP )

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    23
    So for bash, no 'path'. For c shell, PATH=path except no PATH. Is this correct? In c shell, if I setenv path, then PATH also have same value? How about other system variables?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •