Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I have just started using Fedora and encountered a problem I cannot solve even after some serious googling and I feel like a complete noob, which I probably am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

PoL not working/ Nvidia driver installation?

Hello,
    I have just started using Fedora and encountered a problem I cannot solve even after some serious googling and I feel like a complete noob, which I probably am I will try to explain my situation the best I can.

I am using a new Lenovo IdeaPad Y510p (i7-4700MQ, 8GB RAM, Dual NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2GB). It came with Windows 8, I disabled UEFI and istalled Fedora 19 (64bit) successfully without any issue. However, after updating from Software updater and a reboot the system failed to boot (there was a kernel update and also a nouveau driver for nvidia). I couldn't make Fedora boot, not even to recovery mode. So I reinstalled the system and have not updated these packages, as I do not know why updates brought Fedora down. Everything worked fine.

I wanted to play World of Tanks, so I installed PlayOnLinux and it installed all the Wine dependencies (at least I think). I downloaded WoT and the client started normally, but after pressing 'play' the system hung and logged me out. After logging back I started PlayOnLinux and it displayed me an error message:

PlayOnLinux is unable to find 32bits OpenGL libraries. You might encounter problem with your games.

I thought this might be the problem (WoT logged me out of Fedora again), so I tried to find the solution. Some pages suggested to install new drivers for nvidia graphics. However, after trying one of the manuals (different nouveau drivers) I could not boot into Fedora again and the boot screen (until the fail) was much more ugly than before. I could find no other solution (as I am a complete noob), but to reinstall the system again