Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi all, I am having trouble formatting and mounting hardware RAID on linux machine with Fedora using SCSI card. The RAID system is 11TB and had been mounted to Mac ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    12

    Not enough space to build proposed filesystem - Formatting RAID SCSI


    Hi all,

    I am having trouble formatting and mounting hardware RAID on linux machine with Fedora using SCSI card. The RAID system is 11TB and had been mounted to Mac OSX before.
    So to mount it I need the same filesystem format as in linux.
    But when I try to format the RAID Volume to ext4 on Disk Utility on FC16, a popup window "Error creating filesystem" message says: "Not enough space to build proposed filesystem while setting up superblock". See the attached image (RAID).
    It must be mentioned that the RAID's sector size is 4KB whereas, the native drives of the linux machine have 512B.
    I am uncertain whether differential sizes are compatible to function or if this is due to the 2TB limit issue. I checked my kernel and it is 3.6 which is newer than 2.6, so that problem shouldn't be the reason.

    One other thing I noted is whether my SCSI card is compatible with the motherboard. Adaptec SCSI BIOS v3.1 throws some warnings at startup: SEEPROM failure, SCSI controller configuration error (see attachment SCSI). I am also not sure if I need to upgrade BIOS/drivers or get a different SCSI card.

    Maybe you can find this info useful as well.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Disk /dev/sdf: 11250.0 GB, 11249996267520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 170966 cylinders, total 2746581120 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 4096 = 4096 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000
    
    Disk /dev/sdf doesn't contain a valid partition table
    Note: sector size is 4096 (not 512)
    Do you think there is another problem? Any advice is more than welcome!

    Thank you!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by yereke; 09-09-2013 at 07:03 PM.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,444
    You are trying to format /dev/sdf4, but according to fdisk there is no partition table.
    Please check with parted, which can deal with gpt.
    Code:
    sudo parted -l /dev/sdf
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    12
    Thank you for reply.
    Here is the full output:
    Code:
    Model: ATA OCZ-AGILITY3 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sda: 480GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: msdos
    
    Number  Start   End    Size   Type     File system  Flags
     1      1049kB  525MB  524MB  primary  ext4         boot
     2      525MB   480GB  480GB  primary               lvm
    
    
    Model: ATA OCZ-AGILITY3 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdb: 480GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: msdos
    
    Number  Start   End    Size   Type     File system  Flags
     1      32.3kB  480GB  480GB  primary  ext4
    
    
    Model: ATA ST3000DM001-1CH1 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdc: 3001GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: gpt
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name  Flags
     1      1049kB  3001GB  3001GB  ext4
    
    
    Model: ATA ST3000DM001-1CH1 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdd: 3001GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: gpt
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name  Flags
     1      1049kB  3001GB  3001GB  ext4
    
    
    Model: ATA ST3000DM001-1CH1 (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sde: 3001GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
    Partition Table: gpt
    
    Number  Start   End     Size    File system  Name  Flags
     1      1049kB  3001GB  3001GB  ext4
    
    
    Error: The partition's data region doesn't occupy the entire partition.   
    Ignore/Cancel? Ignore                                                     
    Error: Can't have a partition outside the disk!                           
    Model: Promise VTrak M610p (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdf: 11.2TB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 4096B/4096B
    Partition Table: unknown
    
    Model: Linux device-mapper (linear) (dm)
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_selma-lv_home: 357GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: loop
    
    Number  Start  End    Size   File system  Flags
     1      0.00B  357GB  357GB  ext4
    
    
    Model: Linux device-mapper (linear) (dm)
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_selma-lv_root: 53.7GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: loop
    
    Number  Start  End     Size    File system  Flags
     1      0.00B  53.7GB  53.7GB  ext4
    
    
    Model: Linux device-mapper (linear) (dm)
    Disk /dev/mapper/vg_selma-lv_swap: 68.9GB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: loop
    
    Number  Start  End     Size    File system     Flags
     1      0.00B  68.9GB  68.9GB  linux-swap(v1)
    
    
    Error: /dev/sdg: unrecognised disk label                                  
    Model: Promise VTrak V-LUN (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdg: 512B
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
    Partition Table: unknown
    
    Error: The partition's data region doesn't occupy the entire partition.   
    Ignore/Cancel? Ignore                                                     
    Error: Can't have a partition outside the disk!                           
    Model: Promise VTrak M500p (scsi)
    Disk /dev/sdh: 10.5TB
    Sector size (logical/physical): 4096B/4096B
    Partition Table: unknown
    Hope this helps.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    12

    Formatting

    The problem is resolved. You need to format the whole drive first, then the Volume. Finally you can mount it. This is all done from Disk Utility.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •