Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Folks, I hope someone can offer some advice on what might be happening with a cron problem I'm having. I have a script that requires three cron jobs which ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Cron Job Error messages suddenly started - mount -t proc none /proc

Hi Folks,

I hope someone can offer some advice on what might be happening with a cron problem I'm having.

I have a script that requires three cron jobs which I've been running since 2008 without problems. In 2012 I switched to VPS managed hosting and in July 2013 I installed the latest version of script.

On Monday night this week I started receiving emails reporting the following error with one of the cron jobs.

Error, do this: mount -t proc none /proc
    The cron was set to run every 25 minutes and the error is produced each time it runs.

*/25 * * * * /usr/bin/perl /home/mysite/public_html/cgi-bin/arp3/arp3-popreader.pl 1>&2 > /dev/null
    My hosting support seem to be struggling with this and want to point the finger at the script. My position is that the script has remained unchanged since 31 July 2013, has worked fine since then and therefore something else must have changed to be causing this problem?

My server is running CENTOS 5.10 x86_64 virtuozzo / WHM 11.40.1 (build 10)

One thing I have noticed which seems a bit odd. Is when the cron is set to run every 25 minutes, I get two error messages 25 minutes apart and then the third one is timed 10 minutes later! Here are some of the time stamps of messages -

Notice how every third message is being generated only ten minutes after the previous cron on the top of the hour. As the cron is set for every 25 minutes, it shouldn't be running a cron at these points. Should it?

The command line for the cron works fine when executed from a browser, so I know my script is still OK.