Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Yeah I got no idea what to do. I had already been through that post from google earlier. How do I get my hands on Red Hat 8.0? Its not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    Yeah I got no idea what to do. I had already been through that post from google earlier. How do I get my hands on Red Hat 8.0? Its not from download is it?

  2. #12
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Download Red Hat 8 from a mirror closest to you from this page. You'll need to download at least the first three .iso images. RedHat 8 is also called "Psyche."

    If by chance Red Hat 8 gives the same type problems and errors, then there is something going on with your machine that I don't understand. Good Luck.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Cheers for the help, I have my friend here trying some stuff, very odd apparently. Going to try a live linux cd and see what happens.

  4. #14
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Let us know how it comes out! Good Luck!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  5. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    I really don't recommend using RH8 at all.
    Unlike others, I find Fedora Core 3 the most bug-free RH release ever.
    Show me a better example of what went wrong and I'm sure I can help you.

    Disabling dma is something you should try as well.
    Fedora has a lot more boot options than the ones listed.

    If it really doesn't work I recommend using Ubuntu.
    It looks almost the same but it's Debian based.
    http://www.ubuntulinux.org/

    Ubuntu might be the most free distro out there...

  6. #16
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Quote Originally Posted by jens
    I really don't recommend using RH8 at all.
    Hi jens,
    What's wrong with RH 8?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Show you a better example of what went wrong? I posted all the info I can....?

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9
    Seems I found the problem hallelujah. Let it be said that there is much to be said for perseverence. It turns out the problem lies with the ram. I have a 32mb PC100 stick, and a 128mb PC 133 stick. Everything posts fine, but when I removed the 32mb stick, it worked. Changing the order of the sticks produces the same error, cant be bothered trying with just the 32mb. So now the system is AMD k62 333 128mb RAM 16GB HDD. Do you think this is going to enough to run an online web/ftp server with basic audio duties?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •