Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
WIN XP is on Master Linux is on Slave Ok i installed Fedora on an XP system. Everythign went smoothly and I restarted the computer only to find that GRUB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4

    GRUB + Fedora Core 3 + Windows XP = Uhoh


    WIN XP is on Master
    Linux is on Slave


    Ok i installed Fedora on an XP system. Everythign went smoothly and I restarted the computer only to find that GRUB wont do anything. I see the DELL screen the When BIOS usualy hows itself i see the words GRUB. I cannot enter any characters or numbers and the 'enter' button does not do anything. I cannot acces the Boot Menu or the Boot Options (floppy, C Drive, or CD-ROM). So bsicly my computer powersup loads GRUB and then idles until some crazy alien race coems down and blows us all to the gates of hell.(that last part was a little over the top but i am rather fustrated as the entire computer is inaccesible)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    Your speedy reply is very appreciated but it seems that file does not work for me. I cannot do anything beyond starting my computer. Thus I cannot try to reinstall or delete grub.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Have you tried the fedora rescue cd? howto in above link;

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    ok i reinstalled GRUB but i still continue to get the same thing it idles on the promt GRUB is there anything else i should do?

    EDIT: Do you think it could be cause by my Linux/GRUB boots are saved on the Slave hard drive?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    Your disk geometry probably got altered.
    Here's a fix(+ a way to avoid this in the future):
    http://lwn.net/Articles/86835/

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4
    Before i begin what looks like a rather long process could you tell me if this applys to GRUB not even intiating (beyond the words GRUB)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •