Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Frambuffer wrong format

Hello!

I am trying to setup Teamviewer on a headless CentOS server over SSH. When I run
    Code:
    teamviewer setup
    to set up unattended access (because I like GUI), I get the following error

"The framebuffer console seems to be unavailible or has the wrong format. Please make sure that /dev/fb0 is accessible and it is configured to 32-bit depth".

This is my first time running any form of Linux, and my first time running a server over ssh.

Thank you!

A quick visual check in /dev will show if you have fb0. For its properties, look in /sys/devices/virtual/graphics/fbcon. These are all text files; bits-per-pixel should be 32.

You might have to load the corresponding kernel module; I think it's called uvesafb.
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

Okay, so I navigated to /sys/devices/virtual/graphics/fbcon
    The files I see are:
    -cursor_blink
    -power
    -rotate
    -rotate_all
    -subsystem
    -uevent

Is bits-per-pixel supposed to be its own file?
    I attempted to load the kernal you gave, but it gave me the following error:
    "FATAL: Module uvesafb not found."

Thank you for your response!

EDIT:
    subsystem seems to be a directory that houses fbcon. I found quite quickly that it's a never-ending rabbit hole of :
    cd subsystem
    cd fbcon
    cd subsystem
    cd fbcon
    And so on and so forth

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Oops! Sorry, I should have said fb0, not fbcon. fb0 is a directory (strictly speaking a link to a directory). Inside are text files containing all the properties of the framebuffer, if you've got one. If not, you'll have to load the appropriate module. I admit I was guessing the module name; I might have got it wrong.