Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
It seems like it's a really common problem to see people struggling to install the nVidia Drivers for linux. Unfortunately, I've fallen into this little n00b trap. First of all, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    7

    Trouble getting into Runlevel 3


    It seems like it's a really common problem to see people struggling to install the nVidia Drivers for linux. Unfortunately, I've fallen into this little n00b trap. First of all, I know there there are already like 50 topics concerning the drivers, and I have read the tutorials which don't seem to be working.
    Here's what the tutorial I have been following says to do:
    First, I boot up linux and when it has loaded, I press "<alt><ctrl>F2" and enter the text login thingy. I then enter "root" as the username and put in the root password as prompted. Then I proceed to shut down X by typing "telinit 3" and I get to a screen that looks sort of like the linux bootup / shutdown screen. Anyway, as soon as you as you see:
    Code:
    Starting Anacron&#58;               &#91;  OK  &#93;
    nothing else seems to happen.
    After getting frustrated with it, I tried hitting <ctrl><alt>F2 again and logged in as root. This time, when I typed "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6106-pkg*.run, something happened and I got into something that seemed to be the NVIDIA installer. However, once I accepted the licence agreement, the installer said:
    Code:
    No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel.
    I'm still running the same Kernel version that came with the FC3 installer. Thanks in advance for any help.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52
    To get into run level 3, boot into the GUI as per usual ,then go into the terminal and type telinit 3 Now you are in the CLI mode. To configure the hardware type Xconfigure and it should take you through a menu to configure sound cards and graphics cards etc.
    PS make sure you use a capital X in Xconfigure.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    hit ctrl+alt+f1
    log in as root
    then put
    Code:
    telinit 3
    [/code]

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    192
    Let me tell you a dumb way ( I can asure you that will work):

    open your terminal, use "su -" to login as root. edit your /etc/inittab file, find the line says:

    Code:
    id&#58;5&#58;initdefault&#58;
    change 5 to 3, save it and reboot. you will be in the 3rd runlevel forever until you change it back to 5.

    caution: DO NOT change the runlever # to 0 or 6

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Quote Originally Posted by HOUSCOUS
    Let me tell you a dumb way ( I can asure you that will work):

    open your terminal, use "su -" to login as root. edit your /etc/inittab file, find the line says:

    Code:
    id&#58;5&#58;initdefault&#58;
    change 5 to 3, save it and reboot. you will be in the 3rd runlevel forever until you change it back to 5.

    caution: DO NOT change the runlever # to 0 or 6
    please do note thecommand down and dont lose it so that you can change it back to 5 later
    that is a dangerous command

  6. #6
    tfk
    tfk is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    de
    Posts
    103

    Re: Trouble getting into Runlevel 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Razorback
    However, once I accepted the licence agreement, the installer said:
    Code:
    No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel.
    I'm still running the same Kernel version that came with the FC3 installer. Thanks in advance for any help.
    AFAIK, the nVidia driver needs the kernel source package to be installed. It can build its own kernel interface then.

    Bye,
    --LC
    it\'s !Linux; it\'s GNU/Linux!
    [XBill] [GNU] [Viewable with Any Browser] [Drop me a mail]

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    52
    HOUSCOUS wrote:
    Let me tell you a dumb way ( I can asure you that will work):

    open your terminal, use "su -" to login as root. edit your /etc/inittab file, find the line says:

    Code:
    id:5:initdefault:


    change 5 to 3, save it and reboot. you will be in the 3rd runlevel forever until you change it back to 5.

    caution: DO NOT change the runlever # to 0 or 6


    please do note thecommand down and dont lose it so that you can change it back to 5 later
    that is a dangerous command

    I was thinking about that one recently dude, does it reallyknacker you up beyond repair? Constsant reboot or power down runlevel when you boot up.
    Another one i thought of was login as root then: -
    chown * root
    chmod 000 *
    Is there any way out of that one??? Just a thought.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    has this helped atall?

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,120
    Hi,
    First of all, a kernel source is not needed in FC3.
    All needed headers now come with the kernel package itself(that is, if you use the fedora kernels).

    No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel.
    Why did you stop here?
    You don't need a precompiled interface...
    Next the installer should ask to build it itself (using the headers that now come with the kernel package).

    Their's a much easier way to install your nvidia driver though:
    http://www.fedorafaq.org/#nvidia

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •