Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, yeah, I'm a newbie, but I've read all the info I can find on this. I have followed all the sourceforge documents on installing and mounting the ntfs filesystem ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

trouble installing and mounting ntfs filesystem in FC3

Hi,

yeah, I'm a newbie, but I've read all the info I can find on this. I have followed all the sourceforge documents on installing and mounting the ntfs filesystem in FC3, but nothing has worked. The problem I get is after I install the rpm, i try to run
    Code:
    /sbin/modprobe ntfs
    but it says
    Code:
    FATAL: Module ntfs not found.
    I have checked and double-checked all of my steps against the sourceforge instructions and any info I have read in threads. the rpm i have downloaded and installed matches my kernel version, except for the fact that I am running 16 K stack size (whatever that means, I'm a newbie). This is the only thing I can think of that would be causing my problems.

Any ideas would be appreciated. I have read that I should recompile my kernel, but I would rather try all other ideas first. Thanks.

Just Joined!
    I know this isn't going to be of much help to you, but I've always heard that you need to recompile the kernel to get ntfs support to work (if then) as it's a very iffy and dangerous setup. Well at least to try to mount it read/write. Read-only is safer, but I thought still required a recompile of the kernel with the patch.

Banned
    If you don't like recompiling your kernel, you can use a module for it:
    http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/fedora3.html
    (It has very easy instructions as well.)

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by jens
    If you don't like recompiling your kernel, you can use a module for it:
    http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/rpm/fedora3.html
    (It has very easy instructions as well.)