Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have installed jre1.5.0_01 and it installed to /usr/java Ive created symbolic links from /usr/java/jre1.5.0_01/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so to the firefox plugin directory using ln -s. the firefox plugin directories that i created ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    16

    Java plugin and Firefox


    I have installed jre1.5.0_01 and it installed to /usr/java

    Ive created symbolic links from /usr/java/jre1.5.0_01/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so to the firefox plugin directory using ln -s.

    the firefox plugin directories that i created a symbolic links to the java plugin to are
    /usr/lib64/firefox-0.10.1/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    /usr/lib64/firefox-1.0/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
    ive tried also many of the mozilla plugin directories.

    Please help me, what am i doing wrong. Is there a different firefox plugin directory that i dont know. i follewd the directions from sun's site. please help me ive been trying to get the java plugin to work for days. Please help and thank you.


    Fedora Core 3
    Amd 64 3000+
    Asus k87v delux

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I've noticed that puttin the simlink in more then one directory made it not work...
    Make sure of the actual exec file you use for your browser, then reapply the simpink and try again.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    16
    are you saying to delete the other symbolic links?
    what do you mean actual exec file. im thinking that the only logical place for the symbolic link is /usr/lib64/firefox-1.0/plugins but ive tried that.

    do i need to create the symbolic link to any mozilla plugin folders cuz ive tried i think all and it didnt work for mozilla either.

    Please help this is the only major problem i have and im a noob...im begging you please help me and thanks

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    1,267
    I had the same issue before, Mozilla's java plugin didnt work. I simply removed the simlink and recreated it. I've also experimented by placing 1 simlink in the install folder of mozilla and in to the .mozilla in my user acnt, and it didnt work if I had more then 1 simlink to the same object...

    In other words, remove all simlink and redo the whole thing again :P.. make sure the actual path is good for the simlink.... /usr/java/j2re1.4.2_06/plugin/i386/ns610-gcc32 is my actual path is that can help.
    \"Meditative mind\'s is like a vast ocean... whatever strikes the surface, the bottom stays calm\" - Dalai Lama
    \"Competition ultimatly comes down to one thing... a loser and a winner.\" - Ugo Deschamps

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Your SQL Server
    Posts
    95
    i have the same problem, and i have tried at least 5 diffrent methods, but i caqn not get it to work on fc3, i am considering switching distros for the fact that i cannot use java.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    The only way I ot java to work on FF was to install jre to /opt/ directory, and then make a link to the plugins directory somware in /opt/mozilla (I can't check right now the full path since I'm at a windwos machine)

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    88
    java works fine in all of fedora core's . I Installed firefox from freshrpms java from sun,
    symbolic link from /usr/java/jre1.5.0/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so -->/usr/lib/firefox-1.0/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so

    works


    Maybe an issue with 64bit linux?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4

    for me java functions on FF and FC3/32bit as well

    Hi everyone

    I don't have a solution, just want to tell that your steps were successful for me.

    At first I couldn't get java to run either (other browsers were fine though); after making a symlink to

    /usr/lib/firefox-1.0/plugins

    it worked for me.

    It seems that there are multiple versions of java on my system though; I recall installing 1.5, but this one is a 1.4 in a hidden dir in my homedir.

    Anyway, it ran after symlinking from
    /home/wbk/.java/j2re1.4.2_04/plugin/i386
    to
    /usr/lib/firefox-1.0/plugins

    Before that I have been searching in the preferences; there is the switch for turning java on and off... might you have overlooked it?

    Succes in solving the problem!

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Your SQL Server
    Posts
    95
    ok i havefinaly got it to work, i just installed the jre-1.5.x and then did this link

    Code:
    ln -sf /usr/java/jre-<version>/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /home/user/.mozzila/plugins/
    unfortunetly i have to do this for every single user, but only 3 people use this box so it was no problem

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •